An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

Acute Exposure Guideline Levels (AEGLs) Committee Meeting April 26-28, 2000

A meeting of the National Advisory Committee for Acute Exposure Guideline Levels for Hazardous Substances (NAC/AEGL Committee) was held on April 26-28, 2000, in Piscataway, NJ.

The NAC/AEGL Committee has now instituted the development of AEGLs for 10-minute exposure periods for all chemicals scheduled for AEGL development. This 10-minute exposure period will be in addition to the current exposure periods of 30-minutes, 1 hour, 4 hours, and 8 hours. The new 10-minute numbers will be developed for all chemicals previously addressed by the NAC/AEGL Committee, as well as all future chemicals to come before the NAC/AEGL Committee.

At this meeting, the NAC/AEGL Committee addressed various aspects of the acute toxicity and the development of AEGLs for all exposure periods for the following chemicals: Agent HD (sulfur mustard); bromine; cis- and trans-1,2- dichloroethylene; HCFC-141b; HFC-134a; hydrogen cyanide; hydrogen fluoride; hydrogen sulfide; Otto fuel II, uranium hexafluoride; phosphine; 1,1,1-trichloroethane. There was also a discussion of and the development of 10-minute AEGL values for the following chemicals for which the other exposure periods have already been developed at the proposed level: Allyl amine; carbon tetrachloride; chlorine trifluoride; crotonaldehyde; cyclohexylamine; dimethyldichlorosilane; epichlorohydrin; ethylenediamine; ethylene oxide; ethyleneimine; hydrogen chloride; iron pentacarbonyl; methyl isocyanate; methyl mercaptan; methyltrichlorosilane; nickel carbonyl; nitric acid; peracetic acid; phosgene; phosphorus oxychloride; phosphorus trichloride; piperidine; propyleneimine; toluene; and toluene diisocyanate.

You may need a PDF reader to view some of the files on this page. See EPA’s About PDF page to learn more.