An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

Acute Exposure Guideline Levels (AEGLs) Committee Meeting December 6-8, 1999

A meeting of the National Advisory Committee for Acute Exposure Guideline Levels for Hazardous Substances (NAC/AEGL Committee) was held on December 6-8, 1999, in Washington, DC. At this meeting, the NAC/AEGL Committee addressed various aspects of the acute toxicity and the development of Acute Exposure Guideline Levels (AEGLs) for the following chemicals: Agent GA (tabun): Ethyl N,N-dimethylphosphoramidocyanidate, Agent GB (sarin): O-isopropyl methylphosphonofluoridate, Agent GD (soman): O-pinacolyl methylphosphonofluoridate, Agent GF: O-cyclohexyl- methylfluorophosphonate, Agent HD (sulfur mustard): Bis(2- chloroethyl)sulfide, Agent VX: O-ethyl S-(2-diisopropylaminoethyl) methyl-phosphonothiiolate, bromine, 1,2-dichloroethylene, ethylene oxide, methyl isocyanate, otto fuel (propylene glycol dinitrate major component) phosphine, 1,1,1-trichloroethane, and uranium hexafluoride.

There was a discussion of the review and comment by the National Academy of Sciences/National Research Council (NAS/NRC) Subcommittee on certain Interim AEGL values previously published in the Federal Register of October 30, 1997 (62 FR 58840-58851). These chemicals included: Aniline, arsine, chlorine, 1,1-dimethylhydrazine, 1,2-dimethylhydrazine, fluorine, hydrazine, and methyl hydrazine. There was also a discussion regarding further comments on the Standing Operating Procedures.

You may need a PDF reader to view some of the files on this page. See EPA’s About PDF page to learn more.