An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

Acute Exposure Guideline Levels (AEGLs) Committee Meeting December 8-10, 1997

The National Advisory Committee for Acute Exposure Guideline Levels for Hazardous Substances (NAC/AEGL Committee) held a meeting in December in Washington, DC. At this meeting, the (NAC/AEGL Committee) addressed various aspects of the acute toxicity and the development of Acute Exposure Guideline Levels (AEGLs) for the following chemicals: arsenous trichloride, carbon tetrachloride, hydrogen cyanide, methyltrichlorosilane, phosgene, and trimethylchlorosilane. In addition, literature search results for sulfuric acid, sulfur dioxide, and sulfur trioxide were discussed.  The NAC/AEGL Committee evaluated public comments on aniline; arsine; chlorine; 1,2-dichloroethene; 1,1-dimethylhydrazine; 1,2- dimethylhydrazine; ethylene oxide; fluorine; hydrazine; methylhydrazine; nitric acid; and phosphine published in the Federal Register issue of October 30, 1997 (62 FR 58840) (FRL-5737-3), as corrected in the Federal Register issue of November 21, 1997 (62 FR 62309) (FRL-5757-5).

You may need a PDF reader to view some of the files on this page. See EPA’s About PDF page to learn more.