An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

Acute Exposure Guideline Levels (AEGLs) Committee Meeting June 14-16, 1999

A meeting of the National Advisory Committee for Acute Exposure Guideline Levels for Hazardous Substances (NAC/AEGL Committee) was held June 14-16, 1999, in Washington, DC. At the meeting, the NAC/AEGL Committee addressed various aspects of the acute toxicity and the development of Acute Exposure Guideline Levels (AEGLs) for the following chemicals: Hydrogen sulfide, perchloromethyl mercaptan, tetrachloroethylene, and toluene. The review and comment by the National Academy of Sciences/National Research Council Subcommittee on certain interim AEGL values previously published in the Federal Register issue of October 30, 1997 (62 FR 58840-58851) (FRL-5737-3) was also discussed. These chemicals include: Aniline, arsine, chlorine, 1,2-dichloroethylene, 1,1- and 1,2- dimethyl hydrazine, fluorine, hydrazine, methyl hydrazine, and phosphine.

You may need a PDF reader to view some of the files on this page. See EPA’s About PDF page to learn more.