An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

Acute Exposure Guideline Levels (AEGLs) Committee Meeting September 23-25, 1997

A meeting of the National Advisory Committee for Acute Exposure Guideline Levels for Hazardous Substances (NAC/AEGL Commitee) was held on September 23–25, 1997, in Washington, DC. At this meeting, the committee addressed various aspects of the acute toxicity and the development of Acute Exposure Guideline Levels (AEGLs) for the following chemicals: hydrogen fluoride; carbon tetrachloride; dichlorodimethylsilane; phosgene; methyl chloroformate; isopropyl chloroformate; propyl chloroformate; acrylyl chloride; propylene oxide boron trichloride; and allyl alcohol. In addition, the committee discussed literature search results and other available data for sulfur dioxide, sulfur trioxide, and sulfuric acid in preparation for the development of AEGLs for these chemicals.

You may need a PDF reader to view some of the files on this page. See EPA’s About PDF page to learn more.