An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

Region 6 Federal Air Quality Control Regions (AQCRs)

Regulatory Text:

Federal Air Quality Control Regions (AQCRs) in Region 6

(See end of list for New Mexico Counties in more than one Federal AQCR)

  The boundaries of Air Quality Control Regions (AQCRs) designated by the Administrator of EPA pursuant to section 107 of the Federal Clean Air Act are codified in 40 CFR Part 81, Subpart B, Designation of Air Quality Control Regions. Below is a list of AQCRs in Region 6 and the sections in Subpart B where the boundaries are defined.

in Electronic (updated) Code of Federal Regulations (e-CFR)
Subpart A—Meaning of Terms,  §81.1   Definitions.
Subpart B—Designation of Air Quality Control Regions, §§81.11 to 81.275.
Subpart C—Section 107 Attainment Status Designations, §§81.300 to 8.356.
Subpart D Subpart D—Identification of Mandatory Class I Federal Areas Where Visibility Is an Important Value, §§81.400 to 81.437.
Appendix A to Part 81—Air Quality Control Regions (AQCR's)

         Federal Air Quality Control Regions (AQCRs) in Region 6

40 CFR 81
81.099 NM 012 New Mexico Southern Border Intrastate
81.121 NM CO UT 014 Four Corners Interstate
81.138 AR 016 Central Arkansas Intrastate
81.063 AR OK 017 Metropolitan Fort Smith Interstate
81.044 AR MS TN 018 Metropolitan Memphis Interstate
81.092 AR LA 019 Monroe (Louisiana)-El Dorado (Arkansas) Interstate
81.139 AR 020 Northeast Arkansas Intrastate
81.140 AR 021 Northwest Arkansas Intrastate
81.094 AR LA OK TX 022 Shreveport-Texarkana-Tyler Interstate
81.053 LA TX 106 Southern Louisiana-Southeast Texas Interstate
81.083 NM 152 Albuquerque-Mid Rio Grande Intrastate
81.082 NM TX 153 El Paso-Las Cruces-Alamogordo Interstate
81.240 NM 154 Northeastern Plains Intrastate
81.242 NM 155 Pecos-Permian Basin Intrastate
81.241 NM 156 Southwestern Mountains-Augustine Plains Intrastate
81.239 NM 157 Upper Rio Grande Valley Intrastate
81.047 OK 184 Central Oklahoma Intrastate
81.124 OK 185 North Central Oklahoma Intrastate
81.079 OK 186 Northeastern Oklahoma Intrastate
81.126 OK 187 Northwestern Oklahoma Intrastate
81.123 OK 188 Southeastern Oklahoma Intrastate
81.125 OK 189 Southwestern Oklahoma Intrastate
81.132 TX 210 Abilene-Wichita Falls Intrastate
81.133 TX 211 Amarillo-Lubbock Intrastate
81.134 TX 212 Austin-Waco Intrastate
81.135 TX 213 Brownsville-Laredo Intrastate
81.136 TX 214 Corpus Christi-Victoria Intrastate
81.039 TX 215 Metropolitan Dallas-Forth Worth Intrastate
81.038 TX 216 Metropolitan Houston-Galveston Intrastate
81.040 TX 217 Metropolitan San Antonio Intrastate
81.137 TX 218 Midland-Odessa-San Angelo Intrastate

The following New Mexico counties are in more than one AQCR:

McKinley County: AQCRs 014, 156;

Rio Arriba County: AQCRs 014, 157;

Sandoval County: AQCRs 014, 152;

Valencia County: AQCRs 014, 152, 156.