An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

Who is responsible for overseeing the asbestos-in-schools regulations?

EPA is the primary governmental agency responsible for enforcing the regulations promulgated under AHERA. However, if your State has been issued a "waiver" (or delegation of program authority), the State agency then becomes responsible for enforcing these requirements. The states that currently have waiver programs are: Connecticut, Colorado, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Maine, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, Texas, Utah, Illinois, Kentucky, and New Hampshire.