An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

Board of Scientific Counselors (BOSC)

Chemical Safety for Sustainability & Health and Environmental Risk Assessment Subcommittee

EPA's Chemical Safety for Sustainability research program provides the decision-support tools needed to meet that priority, while advancing innovative ways to evaluate chemicals, conduct risk management, and prioritize time-critical research.

Using innovative approaches, EPA scientists and their partners are embracing the principles of green chemistry to produce safer chemicals. They are also integrating a diversity of scientific disciplines to develop new prediction techniques, pioneering the use of innovative technologies for chemical toxicity testing, and designing tools to advance the management of chemical risks. Chemical safety for sustainability includes research in computational toxicology, nanotechnology, endocrine disrupting chemicals, human health, and pesticides.

Featured Research and Tools:

· Per- and Polyfluoroalkyl Substances (PFAS)

· Nanomaterials

· Overview of ToxCast, Tox21, and EPA’s computational toxicology tools

The Health and Environmental Risk Assessment (HERA) Program at EPA is focused on advancing the understanding of the effects that exposure to pollutants have on key biological, chemical, and physical processes that affect human health. What EPA scientists and their partners learn provides the foundation for the Agency’s actions to protect public health and the environment.

Featured Research and Tools:

· Human Health Risk Assessment Guidelines

· Risk Tools and Databases

Subcommittee Members


Katrina Waters, PhD
Division Director, Biological Sciences
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Vice Chair

James Stevens, PhD
Paradox Found LLC


Anthony Bahinski, PhD, MBA,

Global Head, Safety Pharmacology

Juan Colberg, PhD
Sr. Director of Chemical
Technology & Innovation and
Pfizer Green Chemistry Program
Pfizer Inc. Worldwide Research
& Development

Chris Gennings, PhD
Research Professor
Icahn School of Medicine at
Mount Sinai

Daland Juberg, PhD, MS
Global Leader, Human Health
Dow AgroSciences LLC

Timothy Malloy, JD
University of California,
Los Angeles

Jane Rose, PhD
Principal Scientist
Procter & Gamble Co.

Ponisseril Somasundaran,

La von Duddleson Krumb
Professor; President
Columbia University;
Somasundaran, Inc

Cliff Weisel, PhD
Professor, Exposure Science,
Environmental and
Health Sciences Institute
Rutgers University

Richard Becker, PhD, DABT
Senior Toxicologist
American Chemistry Council

Richard DiGiulio, Ph. D., MS
Duke University

Dale Johnson, PhD, PharmD,

Adjunct Professor;
University of California, Berkeley;
President & CEO
Emiliem Inc.

Juleen Lam, PhD, MHS, MS
Assistant Professor
California State University, East Bay

Jennifer McPartland, PhD
Senior Scientist
Environmental Defense Fund

Gina Solomon, MD, MPH
Principal Investigator
Public Health Institute

Donna Vorhees, Sc.D.
Director of Energy Research;
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Health Effects Institute;
Boston University

Mark Wiesner, PhD
James L. Meriam Professor of
Civil & Environmental
Engineering, Director,
Center for the
Environmental Implications of
NanoTechnology (CEINT)
Duke University

Designated Federal Official (DFO)

Tom Tracy (
Office of Science Advisor, Policy and Engagement
Office of Research and Development

Board of Scientific Counselors (BOSC)