An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »


Brownfields Voluntary Agreements

State voluntary cleanup programs (VCP) Memorandums of Agreement (MOA) are agreements between EPA regional authorities and state environmental programs that promote the coordination and define general roles regarding the cleanup of sites. The agreement can further provide the public with the confidence that EPA and the state agency are working in a coordinated manner. Over time, the use of the MOA as a mechanism to strength EPA and state coordination at contaminated sites evolved.

Some MOAs and RCRA Memoranda of Understanding (MOUs) have included, among other things, a means to recognize the contribution VCPs or other state programs can make in addressing the cleanup and treatment storage and disposal (TSD) facilities and underground storage tanks regulated under the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA) and PCB contaminated sites subject to remediation under the Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA). In 2002, The Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act (CERCLA) was amended by the Brownfields Amendments that provides states and tribes that enter into MOAs with EPA are eligible for response program grants authorized by CERCLA Section 128(a)(1). Visit the appropriate regional page, by clicking on the map below, to get a current listing of those MOAs and MOUs.


Map of the US, split into EPA regions Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, US Virgin Islands Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee  Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Wisconsin Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakaota, Utah, Wyoming Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, Pacific Islands Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington