An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

CAA Permitting in EPA Region 7 (Midwest)

Serving Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska and 9 Tribal Nations

State and Local Permitting Authorities

Approved state and local agencies have the primary responsibility for issuing Clean Air Act air permits in Region 7. The region retains responsibility for all air-related permitting on tribal lands and carries out oversight on the state and local programs. To learn more, select the agency of interest below.

Permit Program Contacts

Responsibilities Contact Phone
Chief, Air Permitting and Compliance Branch Amy Algoe-Eakin
(913) 551-7942
Iowa Coordinator David Peter
(913) 551-7397
Kansas Coordinator, GHG Permitting Keith Johnson
(913) 551-7737
Missouri Coordinator Robert Cheever
(913) 551-7980
Nebraska Coordinator Pat Scott
(913) 551-7312
Tribal Coordinator Robert Webber
(913) 551-7251
  Ward Burns
(913) 551-7960