An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

CAA Permitting in EPA's Mountains and Plains Region

EPA's Mountains and Plains region - Region 8 - serves Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming, and 28 Tribal Nations

State/Tribal/Local Permitting Authorities

Region 8 has approved authority for these states and other jurisdictions to issue certain CAA permits.  Permit programs in all other areas of Region 8, primarily Indian country, are implemented directly by Region 8.

Contact Information for Region 8 Air Permitting

Mailing Address: Air Permitting and Monitoring Branch (Mail Code 8ARD-PM), Air and Radiation Division, US EPA Region 8, 1595 Wynkoop Street, Denver, Colorado  80202
Permitting General e-mail:
Branch Chief: Gail Fallon (, (303) 312-6281

Responsibility Contact Phone
Tribal NSR and PSD Permits Lead Claudia Smith
(303) 312-6520
Part 71 Operating Permits Lead Colin Schwartz
(303) 312-6043
Colorado, Utah and Wyoming Oversight DJ Law
(303) 312-7015
South Dakota, North Dakota and Montana Oversight Carson Coate
(406) 457-5042
Southern Ute Indian Tribe Oversight Colin Schwartz
(303) 312-6043
PSD and NSR Permits Modelers

Gail Tonnesen

Rebecca Matichuk  

(303) 312-6113

(303) 312-6867