An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

CAA Permitting in EPA's Southeastern Region

EPA's Southeastern region - Region 4 - serves Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee and several tribal nations

Permitting Authorities by State

Region 4 has approved or delegated authority for these states and other jurisdictions to issue certain CAA permits.

Environmental Justice Permitting Plan

EPA has issued two documents outlining the first steps the Agency is taking to consider Environmental Justice and to engage overburdened communities in the permitting process. The first document is EPA Actions document which identifies activities and approaches to promote public involvement by overburdened communities in the permitting process, particularly for major permitted activities that may significantly impact these communities. The second document is Promising Practices for Permit Applicants. This document encourages permit applicants operating or proposing to operate facilities in overburden communities to strategically plan and conduct enhanced outreach during the permitting process. In addition to these documents, each region has developed an implementation plan to explain how it will encourage meaningful engagement of such communities on EPA-issued permits. Listed below is information you might find useful regarding Environmental Justice Permitting Plan in Region 4:

GHG Permits

Most air quality permits required by the Clean Air Act (CAA) are issued by state and local agencies. Occasionally, however, the U.S. EPA is responsible for issuing permits for sources of air pollution when states do not have authority to implement certain provisions of the CAA. EPA Region 4 was the permitting agency responsible for issuing preconstruction air quality permits for Florida facilities that emit significant quantities of greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions from approximately 2011-2014 and at that time, sources were subject to the federal Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD) permitting program.

Listed below is information you might find useful regarding the historic GHG PSD Permitting in Region 4 and EPA’s national GHG permitting activities:

LNG Permits

U.S. EPA Region 4 is the agency responsible for issuing Clean Air Act (CAA) permits to liquefied natural gas (LNG) deepwater ports that may be located on the Outer Continental Shelf beyond the seaward boundaries of the States of Alabama, Florida, and Mississippi. These facilities, primarily vessels, will be engaged in vaporizing imported LNG and sending it to shore through pipelines and will be located a minimum of three miles, but often much farther, from shore. If licensed, such projects will require an air quality preconstruction permit and Title V operating permit issued pursuant to the CAA and applicable regulations.

Listed below is information you might find useful regarding LNG Permitting in Region 4:

National Permit Initiative

NSR Permits

View Recent PSD Permit Applications Received by Region 4



OCS Permits

EPA Region 4 is the agency responsible for implementing and enforcing Clean Air Act (CAA) requirements for Outer Continental Shelf (OCS) sources offshore the state seaward boundaries of the States of North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, and Florida, which includes all areas of the Gulf of Mexico east of 87’30” (see CAA section 328). Applicants located within 25 nautical miles of a state seaward boundary are required to comply with the air quality requirements of the nearest onshore area, including applicable permitting requirements. Applicants locating beyond 25 nautical miles from the state seaward boundary, are subject to federal air quality requirements and will likely need an OCS permit complying with the EPA’s Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD) preconstruction permit program (see 40 CFR 52.21), and/or Title V operating permit program requirements (see 40 CFR 71). EPA strongly recommends that potential applicants review the OCS Permitting Process below and contact EPA Region 4 to determine what requirements apply.

Listed below is information you might find useful regarding OCS Permitting in Region 4:

Program Evaluations

Title V Operating Permits Program

Tribal NSR Permitting

On July 1, 2011, the EPA promulgated a final Federal Implementation Plan (FIP) that implements New Source Review (NSR) preconstruction air pollution control requirements in areas in Indian country. The FIP, which is titled "Review of New Sources and Modifications in Indian Country" includes two NSR rules for the protection of air quality in Indian country. One of those rules, known as the Minor NSR Rule, applies to new industrial facilities or modifications at existing industrial facilities with the potential to emit equal to or more than the minor NSR thresholds but less than the major NSR thresholds, generally 100 to 250 tons per year (tpy). The FIP gives EPA Region 4 the authority to review applications for and issue minor NSR permits to stationary sources on Indian country in the Region (s). The FIP also allows EPA to delegate that authority to tribes in the Region that request it and are able to demonstrate appropriate capability to implement the plan. Additionally, the FIP can be replaced by an EPA-approved tribal implementation plan (TIP).

Listed below is information you might find useful regarding Tribal Minor NSR Permitting in Region 4:

There are 6 federally recognized Tribes in Region 4; none have any major sources or issue Title V permits.

Top of Page