An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

Region 4 State and Local Permitting Authority Contacts

This page provides you with NSR permitting contacts for air agencies located within USEPA Region 4.  NSR is the construction permit program in the Clean Air Act for major sources of air pollution.  Web links to these agencies will be provided upon availability.  For information on state/local NSR contacts outside of Region 4, please contact the appropriate EPA Region Office.

Alabama - Florida - Georgia - Kentucky - Mississippi - North Carolina - South Carolina - Tennessee


Mr. Larry Brown
Air Division
Alabama Dept. of Environmental Management - Air Permitting Exit
Post Office Box 301463
Montgomery, Alabama 36130-1463
PHONE: (334) 271-7861

Mr. Jason Howanitz, MSCE, PE
Senior Air Pollution Control Engineer
Air and Radiation Protection Division
Jefferson County Dept. of Health - Air Pollution Control Program Exit
1400 Sixth Avenue South
Birmingham, Alabama 35202-2648
PHONE: (205) 930-1284

Mr. Scott Cardno, Natural Resources Director
City of Huntsville
Division of Natural Resources - Air Permitting Exit
320 Fountain Circle
Huntsville, Alabama 35801
PHONE: (256) 427-5750


Mr. David Read
Air Resources Management Division Exit
Florida Dept. of Environmental Protection
Twin Towers Office Building
2600 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-2400
PHONE: (850) 717-9075


Mr. Eric Cornwell
Air Protection Branch
Environmental Protection Division
Georgia Department of Natural Resources - Air Protection Branch Exit
4244 International Pkwy., Suite 120
Atlanta, Georgia 30354
PHONE: (404) 363-7020


Ms. Melissa Duff, Director
Kentucky Division For Air Quality
Division of Air Quality Exit
300 Sower Blvd Floor 2
Frankfort, Kentucky 40601-6571
PHONE: (502) 782-6597

Mr. Keith H. Talley Sr.
Air Pollution Control District of Jefferson County Exit
850 Barrett Avenue, Suite 200
Louisville, Kentucky 40204
PHONE: (502) 574-6000


Ms. Krystal Rudolph, Chief
Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality
Environmental Permits Division Exit
P.O. Box 2261
Jackson, Mississippi 39225
PHONE: (601) 961-5096


Mr. Michael Abraczinskas, Director
North Carolina Dept. of Environment and Natural Resources
Division of Air Quality Exit
217 West Jones Street
Raleigh, North Carolina 27603
PHONE: 919-707-8447

Mr. William Minor Barnette, Director
Forsyth County Office of Env Asst. and Protection Exit
201 N Chestnut St.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina 27101-4120
PHONE: (336) 703-2440

Ms. Leslie Rhodes, Air Quality Director
Mecklenburg County Land Use and Env Services Agency Exit
2145 Suttle Avenue,
Charlotte, North Carolina 28208
PHONE: (704) 336-5430

Ms. Ashley Featherstone, Director
Western North Carolina Regional Air Quality Agency Exit
52 Coxe Avenue
Asheville, NC 28801
PHONE: (828) 250-6777 ext 6789


Mr. Steve McCaslin, P.E.
Director of Air Permitting Division
Bureau of Air Quality Control
South Carolina Dept. of Health and Environmental Control Exit
2600 Bull Street
Columbia, South Carolina 29201
PHONE: (803) 898-4123


Mr Jimmy Johnston, Deputy Director
Tennessee Dept. of Environment & Conservation
Division of Air Pollution Control Exit
William R. Snodgrass Tennessee Tower
312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 15th Floor
Nashville, Tennessee 37243
PHONE: (615) 253-7319

Mr. Robert Colby
Chattanooga-Hamilton County Air Pollution Control Bureau Exit
6125 Preservation Drive, Suite 140
Chattanooga, Tennessee 37416-3638
Phone: (423) 643-5970

Ms. Lynne Liddington
Knox County Department of Air Quality Management Exit
140 Dameron Avenue, Suite 242
Knoxville, Tennessee 37917
PHONE: (865) 215-5900

Mr. Larry Smith
Memphis-Shelby County Health Dept.
Pollution Control Section - Air Quality Construction Permits Exit
814 Jefferson Avenue, Suite 437
Memphis, Tennessee 38105
PHONE: (901) 222-9599

Mr. John Finke
Division of Pollution Control
Metro Public Health Department
Nashville-Davidson County - Air Pollution Control Exit
2500 Charlotte Avenue
Nashville, Tennessee 37209
PHONE: (615) 340-5653

Top of Page