An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

Cross-State Air Pollution Rule (CSAPR) - Regulatory Actions and Litigation

On this page:

Rule Summary

On July 6, 2011 the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) finalized the Cross-State Air Pollution Rule (CSAPR), limiting the interstate transport of emissions of nitrogen oxides (NOX) and sulfur dioxide (SO2) that contribute to harmful levels of fine particle matter (PM2.5) and ozone in downwind states. The CSAPR requires 28 states in the eastern United States to reduce SO2, annual NOX and ozone season NOX emissions from fossil fuel-fired power plants that affect the ability of downwind states to attain and maintain compliance with the 1997 and 2006 fine particle national ambient air quality standards (NAAQS) and the 1997 ozone NAAQS.

The CSAPR achieves these reductions through emissions trading programs, with Phase 1 beginning in January 2015 for the annual programs and May 2015 for the ozone season program. Phase 2 begins in January 2017 for the annual programs and May 2017 for the ozone season program. The CSAPR will reduce air quality impacts of fine particle and ozone pollution that crosses state lines and will help downwind areas meet and maintain air quality standards. For more information about the CSAPR and how it works, see the CSAPR Basic Information page.

On September 7, 2016, the EPA revised the CSAPR ozone season NOX emission program by finalizing the CSAPR Update for the 2008 ozone NAAQS

Rule History

Additional Resources

Read the rulemakings and the supporting documentation in the official Docket.