An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

State and Tribal Assumption of Section 404 of the Clean Water Act

Assumable Waters Subcommittee: Members

Subcommittee members, like the parent NACEPT committee, serve as representatives from academia, industry, non-governmental organizations, and state, local, and tribal governments. Members will lend insight to how the EPA can best clairfy the waters that a state or tribe may assume permitting responsibility for under an approved CWA 404 dredge and fill permit program.

On September 8, 2015, Administrator Gina McCarthy appointed the following people to serve on this subcommittee. David S. Evans and Barry Rabe, Ph.D have been appointed to serve as co-chairs. Each member is representing the organization for which they work unless otherwise notated.

Collis G. Adams, CWS, CPESC
Wetlands Bureau Administrator
Land Resources Management
New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services
Concord, NH
Virginia S. Albrecht
Special Counsel
Hunton & Williams LLP
Washington, DC
Representing: National Association of Home Builders
Craig W. Aubrey
Division of Environmental Review
Ecological Services Program
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Headquarters
Falls Church, VA
Trevor Baggiore
Division Director
Water Quality 
Arizona Department of Environmental Quality
Phoenix, AZ
Laureen Monica Boles
NACEPT Liaison 
Philadelphia, PA
Peg Bostwick
Senior Policy Analyst
Great Lakes Office
Association of State Wetland Managers
St. John's, MI
David L. Davis, CPWD, PWS
Office of Wetlands & Stream Protection
Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
Richmond, VA
James P. DeNomie 
Tribal Consultant
Tribal Member of Bad River Chippewa Tribe of Lake Superior
Representing: Midwest Alliance of Sovereign Tribes (MAST)
Hainesville, IL
Thomas Driscoll
Government Relations Representative
National Farmers Union
Washington, DC
David S. Evans (Co-chair, Resigned as of 12/9/2016)
Deputy Director
Office of Wetlands, Oceans, and Watersheds
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Washington, DC
Kimberly Fish
Assistant Division Chief
Water Resources Division
Michigan Department of Environmental Quality
Lansing, MI
Richard D. Gitar
Water Regulatory Specialist/Tribal Inspector
Office of Water Protection
Fond du Lac Reservation
Cloquet, MN
Jan Goldman-Carter
Senior Manager
Wetlands and Water Resources
National Wildlife Federation
Washington, DC
Michelle Hale
Division of Water
Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation
Juno, AK
William L. James
National Mining Expert
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
Nashville, TN  
Les Lemm
Wetland Conservation Act Coordinator
Minnesota Board of Water and Soil Resources
St. Paul, MN
Susan D. Lockwood
Environmental Specialist 4
Division of Land Use Regulation
New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
Trenton, NJ
Eric D. Metz, P.W.S.
Planning and Policy Manager
Aquatic Resource Management Program
Oregon Department of State Lands
Salem, OR
Representing: Oregon Department of State Lands and Oregon Department of Environmental Quality
Barry Rabe, Ph.D (Co-chair)
Director of the Center for Local, State, and Urban Policy.
Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
Dave Ross - (Resigned as of May 16, 2016)
Formerly - Senior Assistant Attorney General
Water & Natural Resources Division
Wyoming Attorney General's Office
Cheyenne, WY
Gary T. Setzer
Policy Advisor
Office of the Secretary
Maryland Department of the Environment
Baltimore, MD
Michael J. Szerlog
Aquatic Resources Unit
Office of Ecosystems, Tribal, and Public Affairs
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region 10
Seattle, WA
Jake Strickler, (Acting Designated Federal Officer)
Conflict, Prevention and Resolution Center
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Washington, DC