An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

Gasoline Standards

Extension of the Reformulated Gasoline Program to Maine’s Southern Counties

On this page:

Rule Summary

You may need a PDF reader to view some of the files on this page. See EPA’s About PDF page to learn more.

The EPA is extending the Clean Air Act (CAA) prohibition against the sale of conventional gasoline in reformulated gasoline (RFG) areas to the southern Maine counties of York, Cumberland, Sagadahoc, Androscoggin, Kennebec, Knox, and Lincoln (the “Southern Maine Counties”). This final rule is based on a request from the Governor of the State of Maine for areas within the ozone transport region established under CAA section 184. The scope of the EPA’s discretion is limited to establishing the date that the prohibition commences. Consistent with the Governor’s request, this prohibition will commence in the affected RFG area as of May 1, 2015 for refiners, importers, and distributors and as of June 1, 2015 for retailers and wholesale purchaser-consumers.

The EPA has updated its RFG opt-out rules to add a provision reflecting that there is a four-year minimum opt-in period for areas that opt into the RFG program on the basis of their location within the ozone transport zone. This clarification aligns the federal regulation for RFG opt-out requirements with the CAA.

Additional Resources