An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

Green Infrastructure

2014 Campus RainWorks Challenge Judges

EPA designed the Campus EPA designed the Campus RainWorks Challenge to encourage an interdisciplinary approach to stormwater management that reduces water quality impacts while achieving multiple community goals. To assess student entries, EPA assembled a panel of judges representing a range of expertise, from chemical engineering to landscape architecture to hydrology.

Twenty-one judges from EPA, the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA), the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE), and the Water Environment Federation (WEF) generously volunteered their time to evaluate the 64 proposals submitted by student teams.

EPA would like to thank the following judges:

Final Panel

  • Mike Borst - Chemical Engineer US EPA Office of Research and Development, Edison, NJ
  • Jonathan Fitch - Principal Landscape Architecture Bureau, Washington, DC
  • Scott D. Turner - P.E., AICP, LEED AP ND, Director of Planning Nitsch Engineering, Boston, MA
  • Scott D. Struck - Ph.D, M. ASCE American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE), Environmental and Water Resources Institute (EWRI), and Governing Board Representative Geosyntec Consultants, Lafayette, CO
  • Robert Goo - Environmental Protection Specialist, US EPA Office of Water, Washington, DC
  • Craig McClure - RLA, ASLA Senior Associate Parker Rodriguez Inc., Alexandria, VA
  • James J. Stitt - Manager of Sustainability Pittsburgh Water, Sewer Authority Pittsburgh, PA
  • Charlene Harper - P.E., LEED AP Senior Project Manager Stewart/H&G Richmond, VA

EPA Judges

  • Suzanna Perea - US EPA Region 6 Office, Dallas, TX
  • Clark Wilson - US EPA Office of Sustainable Communities, Washington, DC
  • Ken Hendrickson - US EPA Region 3 Office, Philadelphia, PA
  • Myra Schwartz - US EPA Region 1 Office, Boston, MA

ASLA Judges

  • Shawn Balon - American Society of Landscape Architects, Washington, DC
  • Laurie Beth Donnachie - Charles P. Johnson & Associates, Inc., Fairfax, VA
  • Matt Mathes Jacobs - Federal Operations, Bellevue, WA

WEF Judges

  • Michael A. Dole - P.E., Conestoga-Rovers & Associates, Irvine, CA
  • Brian Dey - P.E., LEED AP, ENV SP, Dewberry, Charlotte, NC
  • Rajendra Shrestha - P.E., ENV SP, ARCADIS U.S. Inc. Richmond, VA

ASCE Judges

  • Dr. Kathlie S. Jeng-Bulloch - P.E., D.WRE, CFM, Public Works and Engineering City of Houston Houston, TX
  • Michele Adams - P.E., D.WRE, M.ASCE, Meliora Designs Phoenixville, PA
  • Mounir Minkara - Ph.D., P.E., Department of Public Works City of Chattanooga Chattanooga, TN