An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

Green Infrastructure

2016 Campus RainWorks Challenge Judges

EPA designed the Campus RainWorks Challenge to encourage an interdisciplinary approach to stormwater management that reduces water quality impacts while achieving multiple community goals. EPA assembled a panel of judges representing a range of expertise, from chemical engineering to landscape architecture to urban hydrology to review entries. Judges from EPA, and members of the American Society of Civil EngineersExit, American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA)Exit and the Water Environment Federation (WEF) Exitgenerously volunteered their time to evaluate the design proposals submitted by student teams. EPA would like to thank the following judges:

Final Panel

2015 CRW JudgeMichael Borst, P.E.
US EPA Office of Research and Development
Edison, NJ

Photo of Stephen cook

Stephen Cook
VIKA Maryland, LLC
Germantown, MD

Photo of Dan Christian

Dan Christian
Tetra Tech
Lansing, MI

2015 CRW JudgeRobert Goo
US EPA Office of Water
Washington, DC


Photo of Carol HufnagelCarol Hufnagel
Tetra Tech
Ann Arbor, MI

Photo of Stephanie Pankiewicz

Stephanie Pankiewicz
Alexandria, VA

Photo of Steve Polk

Steve Polk
Stormwater STL, LLC
New Orleans, LA

2015 CRW JudgeScott Struck
Geosyntec Consultants
Columbia, MD

Initial Round Panel

ASLA Jurors

Hunter Beckham, ASLA
Landscape Architect
Charlotte, NC

Tanya Olson, ASLA
Tallgrass Landscape Architecture
Custer, SD

Kristina Snyder, ASLA
Giraffa Studio Design
Milledgeville, GA

WEF Jurors

Andrew Sauer
Burns & McDonnell
Kansas City, MO

James Scholl
Hubbell, Roth & Clark, Inc.
Bloomfield Hills, MI

Angie Tomlinson
Oregon Health Science University
Portland, OR

ASCE Jurors

Adam Ganser
NMP Engineering
Hunt Valley, MD

Rosey Jencks
Urban Watershed Management Program
San Francisco, CA

Harris Trobman
University of the District of Columbia
Washington, DC

EPA Jurors

Christine McKay
US EPA  Region 4
Washington, DC

Suzanna M. Perea
US EPA Region 6
Dallas, TX

Kacy Sable
US EPA Region 4
Atlanta, GA

Clark Wilson
US EPA Office of Policy
Washington, DC