An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

EPA's Study of Hydraulic Fracturing and Its Potential Impact on Drinking Water Resources

The Hydraulic Fracturing Water Cycle

EPA studied the relationship between hydraulic fracturing for oil and gas and drinking water resources using the hydraulic fracturing water cycle (see figure). The hydraulic fracturing water cycle has five stages: each stage is defined by an activity involving water that supports hydraulic fracturing. The stages and activities of the hydraulic fracturing water cycle include:

Hydraulic Fracturing Water Cycle

Read the executive summary.

Stage 1: Water Acquisition
The withdrawal of groundwater or surface water to make hydraulic fracturing fluids.

Stage 2: Chemical Mixing
The mixing of a base fluid, proppant, and additives at the well site to create hydraulic fracturing fluids.

Stage 3: Well Injection
The injection and movement of hydraulic fracturing fluids through the oil and gas production well and in the targeted rock formation.

Stage 4: Produced Water Handling
The on-site collection and handling of water that returns to the surface after hydraulic fracturing and the transportation of that water for disposal or reuse.

Stage 5: Wastewater Disposal and Reuse
The disposal and reuse of hydraulic fracturing wastewater.