An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

Plain Writing Act: 2012 Annual Report

I. Senior Agency Official for Plain Writing

Eric E. Wachter
Office of the Executive Secretariat
(202) 564-7960

II. Training

  1. EPA has an online training for all employees who produce documents for the public and for any employee who would like to be trained in plain writing.
  2. EPA offers classroom workshops and training sessions for interested employees.

Top of Page

III. Ongoing compliance/sustaining change

  1. Each national-program and regional office has appointed a designated official for plain writing. See appendix.
  2. With institutional knowledge of the unique processes and various documents produced in their offices, these designated officials have implemented processes for ongoing compliance.
  3. These processes include communications officials' approval of documents; multi-level managerial review for plain writing; designating plain-writing coordinators in individual offices; and refresher training courses.
  4. Many offices had existing plain-writing procedures already in place to satisfy existing executive order and administrative orders.
  5. The senior official for plain writing and the designated officials meet to oversee compliance.

Top of Page

IV. Agency's plain-writing website

  1. EPA's plain-writing website is
  2. The site is linked from

Appendix: EPA Plain Writing Designated Officials

Office of Administration and Resource Management

  • Joanne Oxley

Office of the Administrator

  • Eric Wachter

Office of Air and Radiation

  • Wanda Farrar

Office of Enforcement and Compliance Assurance

  • Lynne Davies

Office of Environmental Information

  • Jonda Byrd

Office of the Chief Financial Officer

  • Gene Pontillo

Office of the General Counsel

  • Aditi Prabhu

Office of International and Tribal Affairs

  • Chris Hoff

Office of Chemical Safety and Pollution Prevention

  • Teresa Green

Office of Research and Development

  • Dayna Gibbons

Office of Water

  • Macara Lousberg

Region 1

  • Nancy Grantham

Region 2

  • Bonnie Bellow

Region 3

  • Terry White

Region 4

  • Bryan Myers

Region 5

  • John Peterson

Region 6

  • David Gray

Region 7

  • vacant

Region 8

  • Wendy Dew

Region 9

  • Kelly Zito

Region 10

  • Charles Bert

Top of Page