An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

Lead Designations

Lead Designations - Where You Live

On this Page:

State designations

Round 1

On November 16, 2010, EPA designated parts of 17 counties in 11 states as nonattainment for the 2008 lead standards. EPA deferred all other designations decisions until October 2011 so that additional lead air quality data could be collected and evaluated.  

Round 2

On November 8, 2011, EPA designated the remaining areas as meeting or not meeting the 2008 lead standards based on data from 2008 - 2010.  

Tribal designations

Six tribes submitted an initial round of recommendations to EPA in 2009. Some tribes submitted additional recommendations in 2010 based on more recent or new monitoring data. After carefully reviewing the tribal recommendations and all associated technical information, EPA designated all of these areas as unclassifiable/attainment. EPA uses this designation to identify areas that have data indicating attainment, or where there is no evidence of a violation of the National Ambient Air Quality Standards and the area has not been determined to contribute to a violation in a nearby area.

Area designation maps