An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

News Releases

News Releases from Region 10

EPA Administrator Appoints Lacey, Washington, Deputy Mayor, Cynthia Pratt and Coos County, Oregon, Commissioner, Melissa Cribbins, to EPA Local Government Advisory Committee

Contact Information: 

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Administrator Andrew Wheeler announced the appointment of Lacey, Washington, deputy mayor, Cynthia Pratt and Coos County, Oregon, commissioner, Melissa Cribbins, as new members to the Local Government Advisory Committee (LGAC). The 31-member LGAC provides advice to EPA on developing stronger partnerships with local governments and building their capacity to deliver environmental services and programs. The administrator also appointed five new members to the LGAC’s Small Community Advisory Subcommittee (SCAS).

“Ensuring the Agency is well informed on how its programs impact local governments is an essential part of our decision-making process,” Wheeler said. “I want to thank our new members for their willingness to serve in this important role. I also want to thank the returning members for their contributions. The committees provide invaluable insight on how to best work with our local partners to build and maintain strong environmental programs, and I look forward to working with them in the coming year.”

The other newly appointed LGAC members include:

  • The Honorable Gary Ward Black, commissioner of agriculture, state of Georgia
  • The Honorable Bruce Bracker, supervisor, Santa Cruz County, Arizona
  • The Honorable Eric Genrich, mayor, Green Bay, Wisconsin
  • The Honorable Evan Paul Hansen, House delegate, state of West Virginia
  • The Honorable Ryan E. MacKenzie, state representative, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
  • The Honorable Steve Miller, mayor, Fairfield, Ohio
  • The Honorable Matt Surrency, mayor, Hawthorne, Florida
  • The Honorable Paul TenHaken, mayor, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
  • The Honorable Eric Thompson, Tehoroniathe (Bright Sky), chief, St. Regis Mohawk Nation, New York

The new appointments to the SCAS include:

  • The Honorable Vincent DeSantis, mayor, Gloversville, New York
  • The Honorable Ella M. Jones, city council member, Ferguson, Missouri
  • The Honorable Joan Lee, commissioner, Polk County, Minnesota
  • The Honorable Gabriel Lopez, vice-chair, AK-Chin Indian Community, Arizona
  • The Honorable Ann Mallek, commissioner, Albemarle County, Virginia

Chartered in 1993 under the Federal Advisory Committee Act, the Local Government Advisory Committee provides independent and objective policy advice to the EPA administrator on a broad range of issues affecting local governments, such as regulatory innovation and reform, environmental protection tools, pollution prevention, performance measures, and coordinated environmental management and stewardship.

The Small Community Advisory Subcommittee was established by EPA in 1996 to advise the administrator on environmental issues of concern to the residents of smaller communities. New committee members were selected based on their demonstrated leadership experience; proven record of service to their communities; and involvement in effective environmental protection services and programs at the community, state, and national level.

The committees intend to convene in early 2020 to begin their work. For more information please visit our websites:

New Local Government Advisory Committee members pictured here: 

Melissa Cribbins, Commissioner, Coos County, Oregon

Cynthia Pratt, Deputy Mayor, Lacey, Washington

New EPA Local Government Advisory Committee member Melissa Cribbins, Commissioner, Coos County, OregonNew EPA Local Government Advisory Committee member Cynthia Pratt, Deputy Mayor, Lacey, Washington