An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

NPDES Water Permit Program in New England

On this page:

A description of which government agencies issue permits in the six New England states

Who Issues NPDES Permits in New England?

As provided in the Clean Water Act, the nationwide permit system employs two different systems of administration. Forty-six states are authorized to issue NPDES permits themselves in lieu of the federal government. Such states often are called as authorized states because they received authorization from the federal government to implement the NPDES program. The programs of the remaining four states (as well as some territories and the District of Columbia) are administered by the EPA Regional offices. These states often are called non-authorized states. EPA Region 1 has four authorized states: Connecticut (except for Indian country), Maine (except for certain facilities located in Indian country and the regulation of cooling water intake structures), Rhode Island (except for Indian country) and Vermont (except for certain federal facilities). EPA Region 1 also has two non-authorized states: Massachusetts and New Hampshire. The other two non-authorized states are Idaho and New Mexico.

Top of Page

A New England state-by-state listing of recently issued permits

Recently Issued Permits in New England

Top of Page

Links to EPA permit application forms and attachments

EPA Permit Forms & Attachments for New England

Top of Page

National Links

Top of Page