An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

Polluted Runoff: Nonpoint Source (NPS) Pollution

Forestry: Additional Resources

On this page: 

Reports and Guidance Documents 

Top of Page

Forestry Certification Programs

 Forest management certification is evolving rapidly in the United States. Forest management certification arose as a non-regulatory alternative for fostering the improved stewardship of working forestlands. While there are many regulations governing forest management—particularly in the United States—certification provides a private incentive to encourage landowner commitment to sustainable forest management. It also offers a stamp of approval for forest management practices that meet standards considered to be environmentally appropriate, socially beneficial, and economically viable. There are now three major forestry certification programs in the United States: