An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

Ecoregional Criteria

Download GIS Data for Level III Ecoregions

Photo of Ecoregions map

The U.S. is divided into 14 distinct eco-regions.

We publish recommended water quality criteria to reduce problems associated with excess nutrients in waterbodies in specific areas of the country. We work with states and tribes to adopt regional-specific and locally appropriate water quality criteria for nutrients in lakes, reservoirs, rivers, streams, and wetlands in fourteen ecoregions.

Criteria Documents