An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

Ozone Designations

Designations for the San Antonio Metropolitan Area

July 17, 2018 - EPA completed area designations for the 2015 ozone standards by designating eight counties in the San Antonio, Texas metropolitan area. EPA has designated Bexar County, Texas as the San Antonio, Texas nonattainment area and the remaining seven counties – Atascosa, Bandera, Comal, Guadalupe, Kendall, Medina, and Wilson – as attainment/unclassifiable.

Read communications between EPA and Texas as well as technical support documents.

Read the Federal Register Notice: Additional Air Quality Designations for the 2015 Ozone National Ambient Air Quality Standards—San Antonio, Texas Area

See other area designations for the 2015 Ozone Standards

You may need a PDF reader to view some of the files on this page. See EPA’s About PDF page to learn more.