An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

Ports Initiative

Port Stakeholder Summit - April 2014

summit attendees
Major stakeholders with interest in port facility operations and environmental impacts convened for an EPA summit.

Advancing More Sustainable Ports

On April, 8, 2014 EPA's Office of Transportation and Air Quality hosted the Port Stakeholders Summit in Baltimore. The Summit served as a venue for port professionals, experts and stakeholders to address the many opportunities and challenges faced by our nation’s ports and neighboring communities.  Meeting Summary and Summit Agenda

Opening Remarks

Kathy Broadwater, Deputy Executive Director, Maryland Port Administration
Shawn Garvin, Regional Administrator, EPA Region 3


Bob Perciasepe, EPA Deputy Administrator

National Conversation on Ports: Insights

Chris Grundler, Director, EPA Office of Transportation and Air Quality
Dennis McLerran, Regional Administrator EPA Region 10

Community Engagement:
Historical Perspectives and the Path Forward

Robert Bullard, Dean, Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs, Texas Southern University

Top of Page


Strategies for Improving the Environmental Profile of Ports

Moderator: Susan Monteverde, American Association of Port Authorities
Michael S. Derby, Wallenius Wilhelmsen Logistics

Measuring Port Environmental Performance

Moderator: Elena Craft, Environmental Defense Fund (Moderator)

Incentivizing Environmental Improvements

Moderator: James Jack, Coalition for Responsible Transportation

Port Expansion – Illustrative Case Study

Moderator: Jerry Boese, Ross Strategic, Port of Arbor Case Study (PDF)(27 pp, 325 K, April 8, 2014)

  • Sacoby Wilson, Community Engagement, Environmental Justice, and Health
  • Gerry Coyle, Evans Delivery Company Inc.
  • Erica Holloman, Greater Southeast Development Corporation
  • Amy Goldsmith, New Jersey Environmental Federation
  • John Esposito, Ports America
  • Heather Wood, Virginia Port Authority
  • Peg Hanna, New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
  • Frank Esposito, U.S. Coast Guard

Recap Work Groups Actions and Discussion

Allen Schaeffer, Diesel Technology Forum

Poster displays provided by:

Baltimore Port Alliance | Diesel Technology Forum | Donaldson Company, Inc. | Foss Maritime | Hug Filtersystems | Manufacturers of Emission Controls Association | Port of Seattle

Executive Steering Committee

EPA’s Office of Transportation and Air Quality would like to thank all members of the Executive Steering Committee, whose contributions were essential to the success of the Summit. Members represented the following organizations:

American Association of Port Authorities | Coalition for Responsible Transportation | Diesel Technology Forum | Environmental Defense Fund | International Council on Clean Transportation | Low Country Alliance for Model Communities | Manufacturers of Emission Controls Association | Maryland Port Administration | U.S. EPA Office of Transportation and Air Quality | U.S. EPA Office of Environmental Justice | U.S. Department of Transportation

Top of Page