An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

States with authority to implement / enforce the risk management program rule

Which states have been granted delegation of EPA's authority to implement and enforce the risk management program rule?

The current list of delegated states and counties is: Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, New Jersey, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, and South Carolina. Additionally, the following territories and local jurisdictions have delegation: Allegheny County (PA), Jefferson County (KY), Forsyth County (NC), Buncombe County (NC), and Mecklenburg County (NC).

Kentucky, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands no longer implement the program and the Regional office has taken over implementation for those areas.

Florida has a partial delegation (everything but propane facilities), and North Dakota has a partial delegation (only Agricultural Ammonia facilities).