An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

Louisiana SIP: LAC 33:III Ch. 21 Section 2117 - Control of Emissions: Exemptions

Regulatory Text: 
Louisiana Administrative Code, Title 33 ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY, Part III Air (LAC 33:III)

Chapter 21.  Control of Emission of Organic Compounds

Subchapter A.  General

Section 2117. Exemptions
As adopted in the Louisiana Register February 20, 1999 (LR 25:258) (AQ182).
Approved by EPA July 5, 2011 (76 FR 38977) effective August 4, 2011 (LAd34) LA021 docket EPA-R06-OAR-2007-0924

AQ182   §2117; LAd34;LA021.06;AQ182;LR25:0258(2/20/1999)
   The following compounds are considered exempt from the
control requirements of this Chapter:
1,1,1 trichloroethane (methyl chloroform);
methylene chloride (dichloromethane);
trichlorofluoromethane (CFC-11);
dichlorodifluoromethane (CFC-12);
chlorodifluoromethane (HCFC-22);
1,1,2-trichloro 1,2,2-trifluoroethane (CFC-113);
trifluoromethane (HFC-23);
1,2-dichloro 1,1,2,2-tetratluoroethane (CFC-114);
chloropentafluoroethane (CFC-115);
1,1,1-trifluoro 2,2-dichloroethane (HCFC-123);
1,1,1,2-tetrafluoroethane (HFC-134a);
1,1-dichloro 1-fluoroethane (HCFC-141 b);
1-chloro 1,1-difluoroethane (HCFC-142b);
2-chloro-1,1,1,2- tetrafl uoroethane (HCFC-124) 
pentafluoroethane (HFC-125);
1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethane (HFC-134);
1,1,1-trifluoroethane (HFC-143a);
1,1-difluoroethane (HFC-152a);
parachlorobenzotrifluoride (PCBTF);
perchloroethylene (tetrachloroethylene); 
cyclic, branched, or linear completely methylated siloxanes;
3,3-dichloro-1,1,1,2,2-pentafluoropropane (HCFC-225ca);
1,3-dichloro-1,1,2,2,3-pentafluoropropane (HCFC-225cb);
1,1,1,2,3,4,4,5,5,5-decafluoropentane (HFC-43-10mee);
difluoromethane (HFC-32);
ethylfluoride (HFC-161);
1,1,1,3,3,3-hexafluoropropane (HFC-236fa);
1,1,2,2,3-pentafluoropropane (HFC-245ca);
1,1,2,3,3-pentafluoropropane (HFC-245ea);
1,1,1,2,3-pentafluoropropane (HFC-245eb);
1,1,1,3,3-pentafluoropropane (HFC-245fa);
1,1,1,2,3,3-hexafluoropropane (HFC-236ea);
1,1,1,3,3-pentafluorobutane (HFC-365mfc);
chlorofluoromethane (HCFC-31);
1-chloro-1-fluoroethane (HCFC-15la);
1,2-dichloro-1,1,2-trifluoroethane (HCFC-l23a);
1,1,1,2,2,3,3,4,4-nonatluoro-4-methoxy-butane (C4F9OCH3);
2-(difluoromethoxymethyl)-1,1,1,2,3,3,3-heptafluoropropane ((CF3)2CFCF2OCH3);
1-ethoxy-1,1,2,2,3,3,4,4,4-nonafluorobutane (C4F9OC2H5);
2-(ethoxydifluoromethyl)-1,1,1,2,3,3,3-heptafluoropropane ((CF3)2CFCF2OC2H5); and
methyl acetate.

The following classes of perfluorocarbons are also considered exempt from
the control requirements of this Chapter:
cyclic, branched, or linear, completely fluorinated alkanes;
cyclic, branched, or linear, completely fluorinated ethers with no unsaturations;
cyclic, branched, or linear, completely fluorinated tertiary·amines with no unsaturations; and
sulfur containing perfluorocarbons with no unsaturations and with sulfur bonds only to carbon and fluorine.