An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

MT SIP: Chapter 08 - Prevention of Significant Deterioration, Restrictions on Area Classifications

State  Montana
State Agency Department of Environmental Quality
Affected Area Statewide
Regulation Administrative Rules of Montana, Sub-Chapter 08  Prevention of Significant Deterioration of Air Quality
Rule Number 17.8.806
Rule Title Restrictions on Area Classifications
State Effective Date 08/23/96
EPA Effective Date 10/12/2001
Notice of Final Rule Date 08/13/2001
Notice of Final Rule Citation 66 FR 42427

Rule Text:


(1) All of the following areas are designated Class I areas and may not be redesignated:

(a) Bob Marshall Wilderness Area;

(b) Anaconda Pintler Wilderness Area;

(c) Cabinet Mountains Wilderness Area;

(d) Gates of the Mountains Wilderness Area;

(e) Glacier National Park;

(f) Medicine Lake Wilderness Area;

(g) Mission Mountains Wilderness Area;

(h) Red Rock Lake Wilderness Area;

(i) Scapegoat Wilderness Area;

(j) Selway-Bitterroot Wilderness Area;

(k) UL Bend Wilderness Area; and

(l) Yellowstone National Park.

(2) Areas which were redesignated as Class I under regulations promulgated before August 7, 1977, shall remain Class I, but may be redesignated as provided in this subchapter.

(3) The extent of the areas designated as Class I under (1) and (2) of this rule shall conform to any changes in the boundaries of such areas which have occurred subsequent to August 7, 1977, or which may occur subsequent to November 15, 1990.

(4) Any other area, unless otherwise specified in the legislation creating such an area, is initially designated Class II, but may be redesignated as provided in this subchapter.

(5) The following areas may be redesignated only as Class I or II:

(a) an area which, as of August 7, 1977, exceeded 10,000 acres in size and was a national monument, a national primitive area, a national preserve, a national recreational area, a national wild and scenic river, a national wildlife refuge, a national lakeshore or seashore; and

(b) a national park or national wilderness area established after August 7, 1977, which exceeds 10,000 acres in size.

(6) The following 3 areas have been designated as Class I by EPA and may be redesignated to another class only by EPA:

(a) Northern Cheyenne Reservation;

(b) Flathead Reservation; and

(c) Fort Peck Reservation. (History: 75-2-111, 75-2-203,
MCA; IMP, 75-2-202, 75-2-203, 75-2-204, MCA; NEW, 1993 MAR p. 2919, Eff. 12/10/93; TRANS, from DHES, 1996 MAR p. 2285.)

Rule History

State Effective Date EPA Effective Date Notice of Final Rule Date Notice of Final Rule Citation Comments Rule Text