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Re:  Comments on Proposed Revisions to the California State Implementation
Plan, San Joaquin Valley Unified Air Pollution Control District, Docket No.
EPA-R09-OAR-2011-0571.

Dear Mr. Steckel:

The Center on Race, Poverty, & the Environment (“CRPE”) submits these comments on
behalf of The Association of Irritated Residents, Committee for a Better Arvin, and Comité
Residentes Organizados Sevidores al Ambiente Sano (collectively “AIR™).

l. INTRODUCTION.

AIR objects to EPA’s proposed rule to approve the San Joaquin Valley Unified Air
Pollution Control District (SJVUAPCD) Rule 3170, “Federally Mandated Ozone Nonattainment
Fee,” as a revision to SIVUAPCD’s portion of the California State Implementation Plan (SIP)
(“Rule 3170”) as required by Title I of the Clean Air Act (“the Act”). 42 U.S.C. § 7509.

Because the San Joaquin Valley is classified as an extreme 1-hour ozone nonattainment
area, a SIP revision providing a penalty fee program under section 185 of the Act is required. 42
U.S.C. 8§ 7511d (a). Rule 3170 fails to meet the requirements of section 185 and therefore AIR
urges EPA to disapprove the SIP revision.

A Factual Background.

In part because of exemptions for agriculture and oil production sources, and inadequate
regulations, the San Joaquin Valley failed to attain the 1-hour ozone standard by November 15,
1999. 66 Fed. Reg. 56476 (Nov. 8, 2001). As a result, the San Joaquin Valley was reclassified
as a severe nonattainment area by operation of law. Id. EPA subsequently found that California
failed to submit required components of a severe area plan. 67 Fed. Reg. 61784 (Oct. 2, 2002).
On April 16, 2004, the San Joaquin Valley was reclassified to an extreme 1-hour ozone
nonattainment area. 69 Fed. Reg. 23951 (April 16, 2004). The Valley was required to submit an
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extreme attainment plan by November 15, 2004 and New Source Review program amendments
by May 15, 2005. 69 Fed. Reg. 20550 (April 16, 2004).

EPA rescinded the 1-hour ozone standard effective one year from the effective date of the
8-hour National Ambient Air Quality Standard (“standard,” “standards,” or “NAAQS”)
designation. 69 Fed. Reg. 23951, 23969 (April 30, 2004); 69 Fed. Reg. 23858 (April 30, 2004).
Even though EPA has rescinded the 1-hour ozone standard, the discretionary and mandatory
requirements applicable to 1-hour ozone nonattainment areas remain in effect. See 69 Fed. Reg.
23951, 23972-23974 (April 30, 2004); see also South Coast Air Quality Management District v.
U.S. EPA, 472 F.3d 882 (D.C. Cir. 2006).

Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx) and Volatile Organic Compounds (VOCs) are ozone and fine
particle (PM2.5) precursors. Both ozone and PM2.5 levels in the San Joaquin Valley constitute a
public health crisis. The Environmental Working Group published the Air Resource Board’s
estimates that show 1,292 San Joaquin Valley residents die each year from long-term exposure to
PM2.5.! Ozone and PM pollution exacerbate respiratory conditions, including asthma, increase
hospitalizations and emergency room visits, contribute to cardiac illnesses, and increase school
and work absenteeism.? The American Lung Association ranks the San Joaquin Valley counties
of Kern, Tulare, Fresno, and Kings as the third, fourth, sixth, and eighth most ozone-polluted
counties in the United States, respectively.® For the most particle polluted year-round counties,
the American Lung Association ranks the San Joaquin Valley counties of Kern, Tulare, Kings,
and Fresno as the first, second, fifth, and sixth most polluted counties.*

A document prepared jointly by the California Air Resources Board and the American
Lung Association describes ozone as

A powerful oxidant that can damage the respiratory tract, causing
inflammation and irritation, and induces symptoms such as coughing,
chest tightness, shortness of breath, and worsening of asthma symptoms.
Ozone in sufficient doses increases the permeability of lung cells,
rending them more susceptible to toxins and microorganisms. The
greatest risk is to those who are more active outdoors during smoggy
periods, such as children, athletes, and outdoor workers. Exposure to

! Renee Sharp and Will Walker, PARTICLE CIvics: HOw CLEANER AIR IN CALIFORNIA WILL SAVE LIVES AND SAVE
MONEY, Environmental Working Group at 19, attached as Exh. 1.

2 American Lung Association, State of the Air: 2011, attached as Exh. 2.

®1d. at 16.

41d. at 15.
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levels of ozone above the current ambient air quality standard leads to
lung inflammation and lung tissue damage, and a reduction in the
amount of air inhaled into the lungs. Recent evidence hs, for the first
time, linked the onset of asthma to exposure of elevated ozone levels in
exercising children (McConnell 2002). These levels of ozone also
reduce crop and timber yields, damage native plants, and damage
materials such as rubber, paints, fabric, and plastics.’

The document also shows the significant health effects and costs of exposure to fine
particulate matter and ozone in California.

In late 2008, Jane V. Hall, Ph. D., and Victor Brajer, Ph.D., published a comprehensive
analysis of the effects from not meeting the 1997 8-hour ozone standard and the 2008 PM2.5
standard. The health effects of not meeting these standards, and their concomitant economic
values, inflict a conservative measurable cost of $5.7 billion each year - $1,600 person — in the
San Joaquin Valley.® While these data are not directly related to the failure to meet the 1-hour
ozone standard, attaining the 1-hour standard reflects progress towards attaining the 8-hour
standard and the 2008 PM2.5 standard (NOx and VOC are also PM2.5 precursors).

Rule 3170 is an important control strategy to help the Valley attain both the 1-hour and
the 8-hour ozone standards. The Valley continues to violate the 1-hour and 8-hour ozone
standards, making this action exceptionally important to protect the health and welfare of Valley
residents.’

B. Statutory and Regulatory Background.

“The Clean Air Act sets forth a cooperative state-federal scheme for improving the
nation’s air quality.” Vigil v. Leavitt, 366 F.3d 1025, 1029 (9th Cir. 2004). Congress enacted the
1970 Clean Air Act (“the Act”), as amended in 1977 and 1990, “to protect and enhance the
quality of the Nation’s air resources so as to promote the public health and welfare and the
productive capacity of its population.” 42 U.S.C. 8 7401(b)(1). The Act relies on a scheme of
cooperative federalism, whereby the states develop and submit plans and regulations to attain the

® The California Air Resources Board and the American Lung Association of California, RECENT RESEARCH FINDINGS:
HEALTH EFFECTS OF PARTICULATE MATTER AND OZONE AIR POLLUTION, January 2004 at 2.

® See Jane Hall and Victor Brajer, THE BENEFITS OF MEETING FEDERAL CLEAN AIR STANDARDS IN THE SOUTH COAST
AND SAN JOAQUIN VALLEY AIR BASINS, November 2008, attached as Exh. 3.

" To attain the 1-hour standard, the Valley must not have a monitoring station that violates the standard more than one
day each year, on average, during the three-year period preceding the attainment date, 40 C.F.R. part 50, Appendix H.
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health-based standards. EPA’s role is to ensure that such plans and regulations conform to the
minimum requirements of the Act.

On May 19, 2011, the District adopted Rule 3170 in a misguided effort to implement
section 185 of the Act, 42 U.S.C. 8 7511d. Section 185 requires States with ozone
nonattainment areas classified as severe or extreme to have attainment plans requiring major
stationary sources of VOCs or NOx emissions to pay a penalty fee. See 42 U.S.C. § 7511d (a).
Upon failure to attain the 1-hour ozone standard, the District shall impose the section 185
required fee of $5,000 per ton of major stationary sources’ NOx and VOC pollution that exceeds
80% of each sources’ emissions in 2010.®

EPA implemented an 8-hour ozone standard, thereby revoking the 1-hour ozone standard
in June of 2005. However, EPA also required that 1-hour nonattainment areas remain subject to
the 1-hour requirements to ensure continued progress toward the 1997 ozone standards.
Technical Support Document for EPA’s Rulemaking for the California State Implementation
Plan as submitted by the California Air Resources Board Regarding San Joaquin Valley Unified
Air Pollution Control District Rule 3170, “Federally Mandated Ozone Nonattainment Fee”
(*“TSD™), at 3. While EPA’s transition rule from the 1-hour to the 8-hour standard did not
include the section 185 penalty requirement, the United States Court of Appeals for the District
of Columbia Circuit held that EPA violated the Act when it failed to include the section 185
penalties, for “section 185 penalties must be enforced under the one-hour NAAQS.” South
Coast Air Quality Management District v. EPA, 472 F.3d 882, 903 (D.C. Cir. 2006).

On January 5, 2010, EPA issued a Memorandum entitled “Guidance on Developing Fee
Programs Required by Clean Air Act Section 185 for the 1-hour Ozone NAAQS,” in which it
provided “Alternatives to Section 185 Fee Programs” (“Fee Programs Memo”). The Fee
Programs Memo identified three possible types of alternative programs that “may be acceptable
if [they are] consistent with the principles of section 172(e) of the CAA.” Fee Programs Memo
at 3.

The three alternative programs in the Fee Programs Memo EPA believes could satisfy the
section 185 requirement, are programs that: (i) achieve the same emissions reductions; (ii) raise
the same amount of revenue and establish a process where the revenues would be used to pay for
emission reductions that will further improve ozone air quality; and (iii) that would be equivalent
through a combination of both emission reductions and revenues. Fee Programs Memo at 5-6.

& The $5,000 per ton fee is an annual fee in 1990 dollars, which must be adjusted for inflation. See 42 U.S.C. 88 7511d
(@), (0)(3).
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C. Procedural Background.

On August 19, 2009, the California Air Resources Board (CARB) submitted
SJVUAPCD:s alternative fee-equivalent program, including Rule 3170 and various state law
authorities to EPA. The program consisted of an assessment of fees on certain major stationary
sources (exemptions were provided for “clean emissions units” and sources that begin operation
after the attainment year), use of a two-five year baseline average, a two-consecutive baseline
average, and a impermissible definition of “major stationary source.” 74 Fed. Reg. 41826 (Aug.
19, 2009).

On January 13, 2010, EPA finalized a limited approval/limited disapproval for Rule
3170. 75 Fed. Reg. 1716 (Jan. 13, 2010). EPA determined that the SIP revision submitted did
“not fully meet the statutory CAA section 185 requirement.” Id. at 1717. EPA found that the
rule was deficient in: (i) exempting units that began operation after the attainment year; (ii)
exempting certain stationary sources; (iii) defining the baseline period as two consecutive years;
(iv) allowing an average baseline to be based on emissions over a period of 2-5 years; and (v)
defining “major source” contrary to the definition in the Act. Id.

The disapproval started sanction clocks under section 179. 42 U.S.C. 8 7509; 40 C.F.R.
§ 52.31. EPA shall impose offset sanctions by August 12, 2011 and highway sanctions by
February 12, 2012, unless the District corrects the deficiency that gave rise to the disapproval.
42 U.S.C. § 7500.

On May 19, 2011, the SIVUAPCD amended Rule 3170 to address EPA’s disapproval.
The revised program consists of three parts: (1) the assessment of fees on certain major
stationary sources; (2) the collection of an additional $12 for each motor vehicle registered in the
San Joaquin Valley; and (3) a requirement that SIVUAPCD annually demonstrate and report to
EPA, that the combined fees from stationary sources and motor vehicle registration fees are at
least equal to the amount of fees that would have been collected under the fee program
prescribed in section 185. If SIVUAPCD fails to make the demonstration, SJTVUAPCD must
remedy the shortfall through collecting additional fees from major stationary sources.

SJVUAPCD made the following changes between the August 2009 version of Rule 3170
and the May 2011 version:

1. The fee exemption for certain stationary sources was maintained, however
the exemption was clarified to be pollutant specific (VOC and NOXx).
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2. The fee exemption for units permitted after the attainment year was dropped
and replaced with an exception for replacement units.

3. The two-five year baseline period was changed to a 2010 standard baseline,
as well as a two-consecutive year average.

4. The “major source” definition of 25 tons per year of NOx or VOC was
changed to reflect 10 tons per year.

OnJuly 1, 2011, the D.C. Circuit Court of Appeals vacated the Fee Programs Memao, on
the ground that it was final agency action for which notice-and-comment rulemaking procedures
were required by the Administrative Procedure Act. NRDC v. EPA, No. 10-1056, 2011 WL
2601560, C.A.D.C. 2011.

EPA now proposes to approve Rule 3170 as an alternative to the program required by
section 185 of the Act. Rule 3170 retains two provisions that EPA previously identified as
deficiencies in its disapproval; (1) “a clean unit exemption which is not provided for under
section 185; and (2) an allowance for an alternative baseline period of two consecutive years
(2006-2010) if the APCO [Air Pollution control Officer] determines it would be more
representative of normal operations.” TSD at 7. The Act allows for alternative baseline periods
only if a source’s emissions are irregular, cyclical, or otherwise vary significantly from year to
year. 42 U.S.C. 8 7511d (b)(2).

SJVUAPCD argues that any shortfall in funds will be addressed by an increased motor
vehicle registration fee. The California legislature passed AB2522 in 2008 (codified at Health
and Safety Code section 40610-40613) which authorizes SIVUAPCD to increase motor vehicle
registration fees by an amount not to exceed $30 per motor vehicle per year. On October 12,
2010, SIVUAPCD approved the assessment of a new motor vehicle registration fee of $12 per
motor vehicle per year. See SIVUAPCD Final Staff Report, Appendix D including Resolution
No. 10-10-14. The California Department of Motor Vehicles will collect the registration fee
pursuant to California’s Vehicle Code § 9250.17 and Health and Safety Code § 40610-40613.

Rule 3170 also requires SIVUAPCD to track emissions from stationary sources, fees
collected from stationary sources, and fees collected from motor vehicle registration and
determine the amount of fees that would have been collected from stationary sources if
SJVUAPCD had implemented section 185 directly. Rule 3170 § 7.2.1.3. The District must then
submit an “Annual Fee Equivalency Demonstration Report” to EPA to demonstrate that the
amount of fees actually collected is the equivalent to that which would have been collected from
the section 185 program. Section 7.3 requires SIVUAPCD to collect additional fees from
stationary sources to make-up any shortfall in funds.
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1. EPA LACKS AUTHORITY TO APPROVE AN ALTERNATIVE FEE PROGRAM.

EPA, as a Federal Agency, has only that authority granted to it by Congress.
Administrative agencies act only pursuant to authority granted by congress, and do not act with
unlimited authority subject to Congressional restriction. EPA’s role in approving SIP revisions
is to ensure that plans and regulations conform to the minimum requirements of the Act.
Therefore, EPA only has the authority to approve SIP revisions which satisfy the mandates of
section 185 of the Act.

Congress has not provided EPA with the authority to approve a program that is
alternative to that which is required by section 185 and it is therefore illegal for EPA to approve
an alternative fee program. Section 185 requires in no uncertain terms that the fee program shall
apply to major stationary sources, and provides no discretion to EPA that would allow it to
approve an alternative program. Yet, EPA proposes to approve Rule 3170 as an alternative
program, if a state “can demonstrate an alternative program’s equivalency by comparing
expected fees and/or emissions reductions directly attributable to application of section 185 to
the expected fees and/or emissions reductions from the proposed alternative program.” 76 Fed.
Reg. 45212, 45213 (July 28, 2011).

EPA argues that section 172(e), the anti-backsliding provision, allows EPA to approve a
program which is alternative to the section 185 program, if it is “not less stringent” than that
applied to the area before EPA revised the NAAQS. Id. EPA previously put forth this reasoning
in a memorandum from Stephen D. Page, Director, Office of Air Quality Planning and
Standards, to Air Division Directors, “Guidance on Developing Fee Programs Required by Clean
Air Act Section 185 for the 1-hour Ozone NAAQS,” January 5, 2010 (“Fee Programs Memo”).
The DC Circuit Court of Appeals vacated this guidance on the ground that it was final agency
action for which notice-and-comment rulemaking procedures were required. Natural Res. Def.
Council, Inc. v. EPA, No. 10-1056, 2011 WL 2601560, C.A.D.C. 2011.

Approving a section 185 program alternative would violate the plain language of both
section 185 and 172(e), which only applies where EPA revises an ambient air quality standard to
make it less stringent. EPA concedes that the 8-hour ozone standard is more stringent than the
1-hour ozone standard, and therefore EPA lacks authority under section 172(e). 76 Fed. Reg.
45213 (July 28, 2011). Congress provided no authority to EPA to allow states to adopt
alternative programs to that which Congress required in section 185.

A. Alternative Fee Programs Violate the Plain Language of the Act.
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Approving fee program alternative to that in section 185 violates the plain language of
the Act. Section 185’s plain language is unambiguous, “each major stationary
source...shall...pay a fee to the State as a penalty...” 42 U.S.C. § 7511d(a). “The baseline
amount shall be...the lower of the amount of actual VOC emissions (“actual”) or VOC
emissions allowed under the applicable implementation plan (“allowables™) during the
attainment year...the Administrator may issues guidance authorizing the baseline amount to
be... [an] average calculation for a specific source...if that source’s emissions are irregular,
cyclical, or otherwise vary significantly from year to year.” 42 U.S.C. § 7511d(b)(2).

Thus, Congress has specified the parameters of the section 185 program and in doing so,
excluded any program that does not meet these minimal requirements. Therefore, to approve a
fee alternative program that does not meet the minimal requirements explicitly set out in section
185 violates the plain language of the Act.

B. Alternative Fee Programs Exceed EPA’s Gapfilling Discretion.

Approving an alternative fee program exceeds EPA’s discretion. Under Chevron, if
Congress has not spoken to the precise question at issue and the statute is “silent or ambiguous,”
then an agency’s interpretation must be a permissible construction of the statute. 467 U.S. 837 at
842-843. That is, where Congress has left gaps between statutory requirements, an agency has
the limited discretion to permissibly fill such gaps so as to maximize the intent of Congress. Id.
See also S. Coast v. EPA, 472 F.3d 882, 903. But where the “the Environmental Protection
Agency disagrees with the Clean Air Acts’ requirements..., it should take its concerns to
Congress... In the meantime, it must obey the Clean Air Act as written by Congress and
interpreted by this court.” Sierra Club, 479 F.3d 875, 884 (D.C. Cir. 2007) (per curiam); see
also Natural Res. Def. Council, Inc. v. EPA, No. 10-1056, 2011 WL 2601560, C.A.D.C. 2011.
Here, EPA proposes to accept a program other than that provided by Congress in section 185 of
the Act. 76 Fed. Reg. 45212, 45215 (July 28, 2011). Given that Congress provided a specific
program, EPA has no discretion to approve an alternative. To do so, exceeds any discretion that
the Agency may hold.

C. Alternative Fee Programs Are Impermissible Under Section 172(e).
Section 172(e) provides that in relaxing a NAAQS, EPA must “provide for controls

which are not less stringent than the controls applicable to areas designated nonattainment before
such relaxation.” 42 U.S.C. § 7502(e). EPA relies on section 172(e) for the mistaken
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proposition that it has the authority to “allow states to adopt alternative programs.” 76 Fed. Reg.
45212-45213 (July 28, 2011).

However, the Circuit Court for the District of Columbia already ruled that “[b]ecause
these [section 185] penalties were designed to constrain ozone pollution, they are controls that
section 172(e) requires to be retained.” So. Coast Air Quality Mgmt. Dist. v. EPA, 472 F.3d 882,
903 (D.C. Cir. 2006). The So. Coast court upheld retention of several provisions, including

nonattainment fees for regions that fail to meet the 1-hour ozone standard and contingency
measures that are triggered when regions fail to meet that standard. Id. at 902-05. The D.C.
Circuit recently reiterated this point in stating “[i]n other words, the Act creates a one-way
ratchet, ‘plac[ing] states onto a one-way street whose only outlet is attainment’ of the
NAAQS—even NAAQS EPA has subsequently replaced.” NRDC v. EPA, 643 F.3d 311, 322
(D.C. Cir. 2011).

Therefore, EPA mistakenly finds discretion in section 172(e), where none exists.

I11.  RULE 3170 VIOLATES SECTION 185.

Section 185 requires that “each major stationary source of VOCs [or NOx] located in the
area shall...pay a fee to the State as a penalty” for failure to attain the national primary ambient
air quality standard for ozone by the applicable attainment date. 42 U.S.C. § 7511d (a). Rule
3170 violates section 185 because it exempts certain major stationary sources, extends the
definition of baseline emissions to two years without the applicable section 185 compliance, and
fails to penalize major stationary sources. Because section 185 does not allow for such
exemptions, EPA must disapprove Rule 3170.

A. Rule 3170 Illegally Exempts Major Stationary Sources.

Section 185 requires that “each major stationary source” must pay the penalty fee where
an area has failed to attain the NAAQS. 42 U.S.C. 8§ 7511d (a).

Rule 3170 fails to meet this requirement; “[a]ny unit that is a clean emissions unit for
NOXx shall not be subject to the NOx fee requirements of this rule” and “[a]ny unit that is a clean
emissions unit for VOC shall not be subject to the VOC fee requirements of this rule.” Sections
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4.1 and 4.2 (emphasis added). A Clean Emissions Unit is defined as an emissions unit that the
APCO has determined meets one of the following criteria:

a. The unit is equipped with an emissions control technology with a minimum
control efficiency of at least 95% (or at least 85% for lean-burn, internal
combustion engines); or

b. The unit is equipped with emission control technology that meets or exceeds the
requirements for achieved-in-practice Best Available Control Technology as
accepted by the APCO during the period from 2006 through 2010.

Rule 3170 § 3.5 (April 21, 2011).

The Act provides no exemption for any major stationary source, regardless of the
emission control technology employed. See 42 U.S.C. 7511d. EPA itself acknowledged as
much in its 2009 disapproval. EPA stated that “...the exemption does not comply with CAA.
Rather, it requires ‘each major source’ to pay the fee (see CAA section 185(a)).” 75 Fed. Reg.
1716, 1718 (January 13, 2010). Therefore, Rule 3170 runs afoul of the section 185 obligation
and EPA approval of Rule 3170 violates section 185.

B. Baseline Definition Illegally Includes Two Consecutive Years.

Rule 3170 also fails to meet the requirements of section 185 by allowing an alternative
baseline period for major stationary sources. The Act requires that a source’s baseline be
determined by its attainment year emissions or it may be calculated over a period of more than
one calendar year if a source’s emissions are irregular, cyclical, or otherwise vary significantly
from year to year. 42 U.S.C. § 7511d (b). EPA’s Guidance on Establishing Emissions Baselines
under Section 185 of the Clean Air Act (CAA) for Severe and Extreme Ozone Nonattainment
Areas that Fail to Attain the 1-hour Ozone NAAQS by their Attainment, (March 21, 2008)
(“Baseline Memo™) provides that sources with annual emissions that are “irregular, cyclical, or
otherwise vary significantly from year to year” could use the “baseline actual emissions”
calculation method in EPA’s Prevention of Significant Deterioration of Air Quality (PSD)
regulations found at 40 C.F.R. § 52.21(b)(48). This method allows a qualifying source to
calculate its baseline rate using relevant source records from any 24-consecutive month period
within the past 10 years. Baseline Memo at 2-3.
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Rule 3170 sections 3.2.1 and 3.2.2 provide that the baseline period shall be either
calendar year 2010 or “[a]n alternative baseline period reflecting the average of at least two
consecutive years within 2006 through 2010, if those years are determined by the APCO as more
representative of normal source operation.”

In the 2009 disapproval, EPA determined that “Rule 3170 does not conform to CAA
section 185 because it allows all sources to calculate their baseline over a two-year period,
regardless of whether emissions are irregular, cyclical, or otherwise vary significantly.” 75 Fed.
Reg. 1716, 1719 (Jan. 13, 2010). In the current proposed rule, EPA again admitted that the
alternative baseline period of two consecutive years in section 3.2.2 was “not directly consistent
with section 185 and stated that this inconsistently might result in a “shortfall in collected
funds.” 76 Fed. Reg. 45212, 45214 (July 28, 2011). Nevertheless, EPA has proposed full
approval in violation of the Act.

C. Motor Vehicle Fees Do Not Cure Deficiencies.

Rule 3170 does not comply with section 185 even with the proposed collection of motor
vehicle fees, under Vehicle Code § 9250.17 and Health and Safety Code § 40610-40613. Rule
3170 8§ 3.4. The imposition of fees on mobile sources does not cure the deficiencies of
impermissible major stationary source exemptions and illegal baseline calculations. Section 185
does not permit such deficiencies, regardless of whether a state proposes to collect fees through
an alternative program, such as motor vehicle fees.

Section 185 provides two limited exceptions. Sources that emit during an extension year
under section 7511(a)(5) are not required to pay the fees and areas with a total population under
200,000 that can demonstrate “that attainment in the area is prevented because of ozone or ozone
precursors transported from other areas” are exempt from the fees. 42 U.S.C. § 7511d (c) and
(e). The imposition of motor vehicle fees does not qualify the San Joaquin Valley for either of
the limited fee exceptions contemplated in the Act. As such, the mobile source fees in Rule 3170
do nothing to satisfy the section 185 requirements and the Rule remains deficient.

IV. RULE 3170 ISUNENFORCEABLE.
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The Act requires each SIP to “include enforceable emission limitations and other control
measures . . ..” 42 U.S.C. § 7410(a)(2)(A) (emphasis added); see also Id. § 7502(c)(6). The Act
unambiguously mandates that the various measures and regulations upon which a state relies to
comply with the Act must be included and approved as part of the SIP. 1d. See also Bayview
Hunter Point Cmty. Advocates v. Metro. Transp. Comm'n, 366 F.3d 692,695 (9th Cir. 2004).

Approved SIPs are enforceable by either the State, the EPA, or via citizen suits brought
under section 304(a) of the Act. Id. (citing Baughman v. Bradford Coal Co., 592 F.2d 215, 217
n. 1(3rd Cir. 1979); 42 U.S.C. § 7604(a). “Once the EPA approves a SIP, it becomes federal
law.” EI Comité Para el Bienestar de Earlimart v. Warmerdam, 539 F.3d 1062, 1066 (9th Cir.
2008) (citing Safe Air for Everyone v. EPA, 488 F.3d 1088, 1091 (9th Cir. 2007); Bayview
Hunters Point at 695). EPA must ensure that the measures upon which the attainment and
progress demonstrations rely are actually enforceable, creditable controls approved into the SIP
subject to the anti-backsliding provisions of the Act.

Rule 3170 is unenforceable because the air district methodology provided to calculate the
equivalency is not an emission standard or limitation upon which citizens can bring suits.
Additionally, enforcement of Rule 3170 is not practical because it is virtually impossible for
citizens or EPA to determine whether the ARB and the District have, in fact, raised funds
equivalent to that which would be generated under the section 185 penalty fee program and
neither EPA nor private citizens can enforce the state mandated $12 motor vehicle fee. Because
Rule 3170 is unenforceable EPA’s approval is arbitrary and capricious.

A. The Fee Equivalency Demonstration System is Unenforceable.

Section 110(a)(2)(A) requires each SIP to include enforceable emission limitation and
control measures such that any person can enforce such standards or limitations under section
304(a). 42 U.S.C. 88 7410 (a)(2)(A) and 7604 (a).

Rule 3170 provides no standards or limitations and is therefore unenforceable. Instead
the rule includes a fee equivalency demonstration system to estimate and calculate major source
NOx and VOC fees (sections 7.2.1.3 and 5.1-5.3). Because the equivalency demonstration is not
an emission standard or limitation, citizens are not able to enforce the manner in which the
District demonstrates equivalency. The court in EI Comité Para el Bienestar de Earlimart v.
Warmerdam, explained that because the inventory at issue there was not itself a “standard or
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limitation” as defined by the statute, it was not an “independently enforceable aspect[] of the
SIP.” 539 F.3d 1062, 1072-73 (9th Cir. 2008). Thus, in order to be “enforceable” any data or
rubric that will be used to determine when and how the state has met it’s obligation must be an
“independently enforceable aspect[] of the SIP.” Id.

The fee equivalency calculations provided in Rule 3170 are not “standards” or
“limitations.” Thus, Rule 3170 violates the Act’s requirement that Rule 3170 be enforceable.
Id. 42 U.S.C. 88 7410 (a)(2)(A) and 7604 (a).

B. The Motor Vehicle Fee is Unenforceable.

ARB and the District propose to implement the $12 motor vehicle fee through state law
mechanisms which are not federally enforceable.

State law authorizes the increased motor vehicle fee (Health and Safety Code § 40610 -
40613), state law requires the registration fee to be collected by the California Department of
Motor Vehicles (California Vehicle Code § 9250.17), and state law requires these revenues to be
used to fund incentive-based programs resulting in NOx and VOC emissions reductions (Health
and Safety Code § 40610 - 40613). TSD at 7. Rule 3170 does not include the motor vehicle
registration funding mechanism itself, but rather relies on state law to implement and enforce the
fee. As aresult, even if Rule 3170 becomes part of the California SIP, EPA will have no way to
enforce the fee.

Thus, the San Joaquin Valley $12 motor vehicle registration fee is not enforceable by
EPA or citizens, as required by the Act. 42 U.S.C. 88 7410 (a)(2)(A) and 7604 (a).

C. EPA’s Approval is Arbitrary and Capricious.

Moreover, the proposed rule fails to include any analysis or make any finding with
respect to enforceability. The TSD sets forth a single, conclusory sentence stating that the rule is
enforceable. “The rule is generally clear and consistent with the Bluebook and the Little
Bluebook and other relevant EPA guidance regarding enforceability.” TSD at 9. EPA must
articulate a rationale connection between the facts found and the choice made. Because EPA
fails to make any factual finding of enforceability, and fails to articulate a rational basis for
concluding that Rule 3170 is enforceable, EPA’s decision to approve Rule 3170 is arbitrary and
capricious.
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V. EVEN IF EPA HAD THE AUTHORITY TO CONSIDER ALTERNATIVE FEE
PROGRAMS, RULE 3170 IS DEFICIENT.

Even if Congress provided EPA with the authority to approve an alternative fee program
under section 172(e), Rule 3170 would not qualify because it is less stringent than the section
185 program. Section 185 is not a standard-based provision of the Act, nor is it based on a
specific fee collection amount. The purpose of section 185 is to penalize major stationary
sources in severe and extreme nonattainment areas. Therefore, the “stringency” of section 185
does not stem from an overarching dollar figure or emission target, but rather from three
requirements; (i) that “each major stationary source” be pay the penalty fee; (ii) that the fee paid
by each source be equal to $5,000, adjusted for inflation, per ton of VOC or NOx emitted in
excess of 80 percent of the baseline; and (iii) the baseline amount be established from the
attainment year inventory, unless the source’s emissions are irregular, cyclical, or otherwise
varying significantly from year to year. 42 U.S.C. 8§ 7511d.

If an alternative program is permissible under section 172(e), then accordingly, it must
not be “less stringent.” In other words, an alternative program must still require each major
stationary source to pay a penalty fee, that fee must be equal to the annual adjustment rate of
$5,000 per ton of VOC or NOx emitted in excess of 80 percent of the baseline, and the baseline
must be based on the attainment year, unless the source’s emissions are irregular, cyclical, or
otherwise varying significantly from year to year.

Rule 3170 fails to attain this level of stringency, as it does not charge all stationary
sources penalty fees and the fees charged may be based on a two-year baseline even when the
sources emissions are not irregular, cyclical, or otherwise varying significantly from year to year.
The addition of a motor vehicle registration fee to offset any shortfall in funding due to these
lesser stringencies, does not cure the deficiencies themselves.

A. Exemptions for Certain Stationary Sources.

Rule 3170 is less stringent than the section 185 program because it exempts certain
stationary sources from paying penalty fees. One of the “stringencies” of section 185 is that it
applies to “each major stationary source.” As discussed above, in Section II, Rule 3170 exempts
entire stationary sources from paying any penalty fees at all. See Rule 3170 § 4.0. Regardless of
how clean a unit is, an outright exemption from the fee provides no penalty and is therefore less
stringent than the section 185 program.

B. Baseline Definition Includes Two Consecutive Years.
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Rule 3170 is less stringent than the section 185 program because it allows sources to use
an alternative baseline, reflecting a two year average even if the source’s emissions are not
irregular, cyclical, or otherwise significantly varying from year to year. See discussion above in
Section Il. Without limiting the availability of the alternative baseline to those sources with
irregular, cyclical, or emissions that otherwise vary significantly from year to year, the
alternative baseline is automatically less stringent than required in section 185.

C. Motor Vehicle Fees Do Not Cure Deficiencies.

SIVUAPCD proposes to collect fees from mobile sources, specifically $12 per year
motor vehicle registered in the San Joaquin Valley per year, to “make up for any shortfall in
collected funds that might result from these two provisions [the exemption for certain major
stationary sources and the allowance of alternative baselines].” 76 Fed. Reg. 45212, 45214 (July
28, 2011). Adding an additional fee collection mechanism does not increase the stringency of
Rule 3170 such that it is equivalent to the section 185 program.

The “stringency” of section 185 does not stem from a dollar figure target, but rather from
three requirements; (i) that “each major stationary source” be required to pay; (ii) the fee paid by
each source shall be equal to $5,000, adjusted for inflation, per ton of VOC or NOx emitted in
excess of 80 percent of the baseline; and (iii) that the baseline amount is established from the
attainment year inventory, unless the source’s emissions are irregular, cyclical, or otherwise
varying significantly from year to year. 42 U.S.C. § 7511d.

Charging motor vehicle fees merely adds a revenue stream. It fails to make up for the
shortfall of not charging all major stationary sources penalty fees and basing those fees on the
attainment year baseline, unless the sources emissions are irregular, cyclical, or otherwise vary
significantly from year to year. 42 U.S.C. § 7511d.

VI. TITLE VI VIOLATION.

Rule 3170 penalizes vehicle owners, already subject to stringent motor vehicle emissions
standards and who pay extra at the pump to buy fuel that meets ARB fuel rule requirements,
instead of owners of major stationary sources. Because the motor vehicle owners in the Valley
are largely low-income and people of color, where owners of major stationary sources are not,
this rule disparately impacts low-income and people of color, in violation of Title VI of the Civil
Rights Act, EPA’s regulations implementing Title VI, and President Clinton’s Executive Order
12898. The Air District is a recipient of federal funding and shifts the fee burden from majority
white owned major stationary sources to the Valley’s majority population who are people of
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color. Because the District receives federal funding, it is EPA’s duty to ensure that the District
does not administer its Clean Air Act programs in a manner that violates Title V1.

To the extent that EPA does not believe that it may consider this particular comment as
appropriate under the Clean Air Act, AIR respectfully requests that EPA construe this particular
comment as a complaint filed pursuant to EPA’s regulations implementing Title VI of the Civil
Rights Act.

VII. CONCLUSION.
For the reasons set forth above, EPA has no authority to allow states to adopt an
alternative fee program, Rule 3170 violates section 185, is not enforceable, is deficient even as

an alternative fee program, and violates Title VI of the Civil Rights Act. EPA should disapprove
Rule 3170. Thank you for your time, consideration, and effort.

Sincerely,

/s
Laura Baker
Staff Attorney

Tom Frantz, President
Association of Irritated Residents

Maria Covarruvias, President
Comité Residentes Organizandos al Servicio del Ambiente Sano

Salvador Partida, President
Committee for a Better Arvin
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