Public Notice Ohio Environmental Protection Agency Recommended Designation of Nonattainment Area Boundaries for the 2010 Sulfur Dioxide Standard – Round 3

The Ohio Environmental Protection Agency (Ohio EPA) is soliciting comments regarding the extent of Ohio's nonattainment areas for the revised sulfur dioxide (SO₂) National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) which replaced the 24-hour and annual standards with a new short-term 1-hour standard of 75 parts per billion (ppb). The United States Environmental Protection Agency (U.S. EPA) adopted this revised SO₂ standard effective on August 23, 2010.

On August 15, 2013, U.S. EPA published (78 FR 47191) the initial, first round, SO₂ nonattainment area designations for the 1-hour SO₂ standard across the country based upon areas with monitored violations (effective October 4, 2013). On March 2, 2015, the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of California accepted as an enforceable order an agreement between the U.S. EPA and Sierra Club and the Natural Resources Defense Council to resolve litigation concerning the deadline for completing designations. This order directs U.S. EPA to complete the remaining designations in three steps: round two by July 2, 2016; round three by December 31, 2017 and round four by December 31, 2020. On July 12, 2016, U.S. EPA published (81 FR 45039) final second round designations for these source areas.

Ohio EPA is now soliciting comments on round three designation recommendations. Ohio EPA's preliminary recommendations are for all areas of Ohio not previously designated on August 15, 2013 or July 12, 2016 to be designated unclassifiable/attainment, with the exception of the General James M. Gavin Plant area. This source area, which includes Kyger Creek Generating Station, was designated as unclassifiable under the round two designations. Ohio EPA intends to use monitoring to characterize this source area and will address a final designation recommendation under round four of designations. The comments received will be used to formulate the State's formal recommendation proposal to U.S. EPA.

These actions must be noticed to allow public comment and to satisfy U.S. EPA requirements for public involvement in state implementation plan related activities. Comments should be submitted on or before December 16, 2016 at the following address:

E-mail: christopher.beekman@epa.ohio.gov

Mailing address: Christopher Beekman

Ohio Environmental Protection Agency, DAPC

Lazarus Government Center

P.O. Box 1049

Columbus, Ohio 43216-1049

Phone: (614) 644-3597

Pursuant to Section 119.03 of the Ohio Revised Code, a public hearing on these recommendations will be conducted on December 16, 2016 at 10:30 a.m., at the Ohio EPA 50 West Town Street, Suite 700, Columbus, OH 43215.

All interested persons are entitled to attend or be represented at the hearing and give written or oral comments on these recommendations. All oral comments presented at the hearing, and all written statements submitted at the hearing or to the above address by the close of business on December 16, 2016, will be considered by Ohio EPA prior to final action on these recommendations. Written statements submitted after December 16, 2016, may be considered as time and circumstances permit, but will not be part of the official record of the hearing.

The 2010 SO₂ round three designation recommendation documentation is available on Ohio EPA DAPC's web page for electronic downloading at: http://epa.ohio.gov/dapc/SIP/so₂.aspx.

Questions regarding accessing the web site should be directed to Paul Braun at 614-644-3734; other questions or comments about this document should be directed to either Christopher Beekman at (614) 644-3597, Christopher.Beekman@epa.ohio.gov or Jennifer Van Vlerah at (614) 644-3696, Jennifer.VanVlerah@epa.ohio.gov or mailed to Holly Kaloz or Jennifer Van Vlerah at the above address.