

PHIL BRYANT GOVERNOR

January 10, 2017

Heather McTeer Toney Regional Administrator U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Region 4 61 Forsyth Street, S.W. Atlanta, Georgia 30303

Dear Ms. McTeer Toney:

In accordance with Section 107(d) of the Clean Air Act. I am hereby providing updated designation recommendations for the 2010 National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) for Sulfur Dioxide (SO₂) for the state of Mississippi.

On January 13, 2016, as required for Round 3 of the designation process for the 2010 SO₂ NAAQS, the Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality (MDEQ) submitted the list of SO₂ sources that exceed the actual emissions threshold of 2,000 tons/year for the SO₂ Data Requirements Rule (DRR). Six facilities were identified in Mississippi as subject to the DRR. On June 24, 2016 MDEQ provided the characterization pathways for each facility as required for the DRR. The facilities and their characterization pathways are listed in the table below.

County	Facility	Characterization Pathway
Lamar	South Mississippi Electric Power Association: R.D. Morrow Plant	Area Designated Attainment per EPA letter dated Feb 16, 2016
Harrison	Mississippi Power Company: Plant Jack Watson	Federally Enforceable Emission Limit
Jackson	Mississippi Power Company: Plant Victor Daniel	Air Quality Modeling
Harrison	The Chemours Company FC, LLC (Formerly DuPont-Delisle)	Federally Enforceable Emission Limit
Rankin	Pursue Energy Corporation: Thomasville Gas Plant	Facility Shut Down
Choctaw	Choctaw Generation LLP: Red Hills Generation Facility	Air Quality Modeling

STATE OF MISSISSIPPI • OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR

POST OFFICE BOX 139 • JACKSON, MISSISSIPPI 39205 • TELEPHONE: (601) 359-3150 • FAX: (601) 359-3741 • www.governorbryant.com

Heather McTeer Toney Regional Administrator January 10, 2017 Page 2

Facilities in five Mississippi counties were subject to the DRR, of which each has met the requirements outlined in the rule. With this letter MDEQ is presenting the final documentation for the DRR.

SO₂ monitors in Mississippi have continued to meet the 2010 SO₂ NAAQS. Therefore, I recommend that all counties in Mississippi be designated as attainment/unclassifiable for the 2015 National Ambient Air Quality Standards for SO₂.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact Keith Head at khead@mdeq.ms.gov or (601) 961-5577.

Sincerely,

Jujou X Phil Bryant GOVERNOR

Attachment

cc: Mr. Gary Rikard, Executive Director. MDEQ