

UNITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY

REGION 6 1445 ROSS AVENUE, SUITE 1200 DALLAS, TEXAS 75202 - 2733 Indibut as more obtail (sentemperature)

August 22, 2017 Office of the Regional Administrator

The Honorable Asa Hutchinson Governor of State of Arkansas 500 Woodlane Street Little Rock, Arkansas 72201

Dear Governor Hutchinson:

The purpose of this letter is to inform you of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA's) intended designations for certain areas in Arkansas for the 2010 Primary National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAOS) for sulfur dioxide (SO₂). The designations for this NAAOS are an important part of the EPA's commitment to a clean, healthy environment. These intended designations are a response to designations-related recommendations and information your state submitted in letters dated March 22, 2011, and January 24, 2017. information or information gaps. Upon the completion of this designation action

Finally, we intend to designate as unclassifiable attainment all remaining are

On July 25, 2013, the EPA designated certain areas in 16 states as nonattainment, but did not at that time designate other areas. Additional areas were designated on June 30, 2016, and November 29, 2016. In Arkansas, the following areas were designated in these previous actions: Independence County and Jefferson County. Pursuant to a March 2, 2015, court-ordered schedule, the agency must complete the remaining SO₂ designations by two specific deadlines: December 31, 2017, and December 31, 2020. Accordingly, pursuant to section 107(d)(1)(B)(ii) of the Clean Air Act, this letter is to notify you of the EPA's assessment of your state's recommended designations for all remaining undesignated areas in Arkansas. While we are in agreement with your recommendation for many of these areas, some areas warrant further discussion as explained below and in the accompanying technical support document. We stand ready to assist and hope to resolve any differences regarding the proper designation for these areas within this 120-day period provided by the Clean Air Act.

To this end, if you or your staff have additional information that the EPA should consider prior to finalizing the designations, please submit it as soon as possible but no later than October 23, 2017. You may submit additional information by sending it to the EPA's public docket for these designations, EPA-HQ-OAR-2017-0003, located at www.regulations.gov, and sending a copy to EPA Region 6. The EPA also will publish a notice in the Federal Register announcing a 30-day comment period for the public to provide input on the EPA's intended designations.

The State of Arkansas has recommended a designation of unclassifiable/attainment for the areas indicated below. EPA regulations for implementing the SO₂ NAAQS require Arkansas to characterize SO₂ air quality in each listed area. In considering your recommendation, we have taken into account all available information, including any current (2014-2016) air monitoring data, and any air dispersion modeling analyses provided by Arkansas or by a third party. Our review of this information indicates

¹ Sierra Club v. McCarthy, No. 3-13-cv-3953 (SI) (N.D. Cal. Mar. 2, 2015).

INITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY

that it is consistent with your recommendation. The EPA intends to designate each listed area as a separate unclassifiable area, as indicated.

Intended Unclassifiable/Attainment Area	Included Counties		
Benton County	Benton County		
Mississippi County	Mississippi County		

Enclosure 1 to this letter provides the information that supports the intended designation decisions for these areas in Arkansas.²

Finally, we intend to designate as unclassifiable/attainment all remaining areas of Arkansas that were not required to be characterized and for which EPA does not have information that suggests the area may not be meeting the NAAQS or contributing to air quality in a nearby area that does not meet the NAAQS. A list of these remaining areas is included in Enclosure 2.

The EPA will promulgate the final designations for the areas identified in this letter by December 31, 2017. We are prepared to work with you to resolve any disagreements with respect to the available information or information gaps. Upon the completion of this designation action, there will be no remaining areas in Arkansas to be designated.

We share your goal to provide cleaner air for citizens in your state. We look forward to a continued dialogue with you and your staff as we work together to complete the area designations and implement the 2010 primary SO₂ NAAQS. For additional information regarding designations under the SO₂ NAAQS, please visit our website at https://www.epa.gov/sulfur-dioxide-designations. Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to call me, or have your staff contact Dayana Medina of my staff at telephone: (214) 665-7241, email:medina.dayana@epa.gov.

Sincerely,

Samuel Coleman, P.E.

Acting Regional Administrator

Enclosure

cc: Becky Keogh, Director, Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality
Stuart Spencer, Chief of Air Division, Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality

s possible but no later than October 23, 2017, You

(O₂ air quality in each listed area, In considering your recommendation, we have taken into account a trailable information, including any current (2014-2016) air monitoring data, and any air dispersion modeling analyses provided by Arkansas or by a third party. Our review of this information indicates

² Enclosure 1 is Chapter 5 of the Technical Support Document for the designations EPA plans to complete by December 31, 2017, that addresses areas in Arkansas. The Technical Support Document is also available at https://www.epa.gov/sulfur-dioxide-designations

Enclosure 2

List of all remaining areas of Arkansas that were not required to be characterized and for which the EPA does not have information that suggests the area may not be meeting the NAAQS or contributing to air quality in a nearby area that does not meet the NAAQS. The EPA intends to designate each of these areas as a separate unclassifiable/attainment area.

County
Arkansas County*
Ashley County*
Baxter County*
Boone County*
Bradley County*
Calhoun County*
Carroll County*
Chicot County*
Clark County*
Clay County*
Cleburne County*
Cleveland County*
Columbia County*
Conway County*
Craighead County*
Crawford County*
Crittenden County*
Cross County*
Dallas County*
Desha County*
Drew County*
Faulkner County*
Franklin County*
Fulton County*

Garland County*		
Grant County*		
Greene County*		
Hempstead County*		
Hot Spring County*		
Howard County*		
Izard County*		
Jackson County*		
Johnson County*		
Lafayette County*		
Lawrence County*		
Lee County*		
Lincoln County*		
Little River County*		
Logan County*		
Lonoke County*		
Madison County*	,	
Marion County*		
Miller County*		
Monroe County*		
Montgomery County*		
Nevada County*		
Newton County*		
Ouachita County*		
Perry County*		
Phillips County*		
Pike County*	-	
Poinsett County*	1	
Polk County*	-	
Pope County*	-	
	1	

Prairie County*
Pulaski County
Randolph County*
St. Francis County*
Saline County*
Scott County*
Searcy County*
Sebastian County*
Sevier County*
Sharp County*
Stone County*
Union County
Van Buren County*
Washington County*
White County*
Woodruff County*
Yell County*

An asterisk (*) indicates that the intended designation for this county or portion of a county represents a modification to the designation that Arkansas has most recently recommended.