

## UNITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY

**REGION 8** 

1595 Wynkoop Street Denver, CO 80202-1129 Phone 800-227-8917 www.epa.gov/region8

AUG 2 2 2017

Ref: 8P-AR

Honorable Dennis Daugaard Office of the Governor 500 East Capitol Avenue Pierre, South Dakota 57501

Dear Governor Daugaard:

The purpose of this letter is to inform you of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA's) intended designations for certain areas in South Dakota for the 2010 Primary National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) for sulfur dioxide (SO<sub>2</sub>). The designations for this NAAQS are an important part of the EPA's commitment to a clean, healthy environment. These intended designations are a response to designation-related recommendations and information your state submitted in letters dated June 2, 2011 and September 16, 2015.

On July 25, 2013, the EPA designated certain areas in 16 states as nonattainment, but did not at that time designate other areas. Additional areas were designated on June 30, 2016 and November 29, 2016. In South Dakota, the following area was designated in a previous action: Grant County. Pursuant to a March 2, 2015, court-ordered schedule,<sup>1</sup> the agency must complete the remaining SO<sub>2</sub> designations by two specific deadlines: December 31, 2017 and December 31, 2020. Accordingly, pursuant to section 107(d)(1)(B)(ii) of the Clean Air Act, this letter is to notify you of the EPA's assessment of your state's recommended designations for all remaining undesignated areas in South Dakota. We are in agreement with your recommendation.

If you or your staff have additional information that the EPA should consider prior to finalizing the designations, please submit it as soon as possible but no later than October 23, 2017. You may submit additional information by sending it to the EPA's public docket for these designations, EPA-HQ-OAR-2017-0003, located at *www.regulations.gov*, and sending a copy to EPA Region 8. The EPA also will publish a notice in the *Federal Register* announcing a 30-day comment period for the public to provide input on the EPA's intended designations.

South Dakota has recommended a designation of attainment for the entire state. In considering your recommendation, we have taken into account all available information and we intend to design ate the remaining state areas as unclassifiable/attainment. There are no areas in South Dakota required to be characterized by modeling or monitoring, and the EPA does not have information that suggests the area may not be meeting the NAAQS or contributing to air quality in a nearby area that does not meet the NAAQS.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Sierra Club v. McCarthy, No. 3-13-cv-3953 (SI) (N.D. Cal. Mar. 2, 2015).

Enclosure 1 to this letter provides the information that supports the intended designation decision for South Dakota.<sup>2</sup>

The EPA will promulgate the final designations for the areas identified in this letter by December 31, 2017. We are prepared to work with you to resolve any disagreements with respect to the available information or information gaps. Upon the completion of this designation action, there will be no remaining areas in South Dakota to be designated for the 2010 primary SO<sub>2</sub> NAAQS.

We share your goal to provide cleaner air for citizens in your state. We look forward to a continued dialogue with you and your staff as we work together to complete the area designations and implement the 2010 primary SO<sub>2</sub> NAAQS. For additional information regarding designations under the SO<sub>2</sub> NAAQS, please visit our website at *https://www.epa.gov/sulfur-dioxide-designations*. Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me, or your Air Quality Program. Your staff may contact Monica Morales, Region 8's Air Program Director, at morales.monica@epa.gov or (303) 312-6936.

Sincerely,

10 Th

Debra H. Thomas Acting Regional Administrator

Enclosures

cc: Steven M. Pirner, Department Secretary South Dakota Department of Environment & Natural Resources

Brian Gustafson, Administrator South Dakota DENR, Air Quality Program

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Enclosure 1 is Chapter 2 of the Technical Support Document for the designations the EPA plans to complete by December 31, 2017, that addresses areas in South Dakota. The Technical Support Document is also available at *https://www.epa.gov/sulfur-dioxide-designations*.

## Enclosure 2

List of all remaining areas of South Dakota that were not required to be characterized and for which the EPA does not have information that suggests the area may not be meeting the NAAQS or contributing to air quality in a nearby area that does not meet the NAAQS. The EPA intends to designate each of these areas as a separate unclassifiable/attainment area.

County or Partial County (p)	Included Area, If Partial County
Aurora	
Beadle	
Bennett <sup>1</sup>	
Bon Homme	
Brookings	
Brown	
Brule	
Buffalo <sup>1</sup>	
Butte	
Campbell	
Charles Mix <sup>1</sup>	
Clark	
Clay	
Codington <sup>1</sup>	
Corson <sup>1</sup>	
Custer	
Davison	
Day <sup>1</sup>	
Deuel	
Dewey <sup>1</sup>	
Douglas	
Edmunds	
Fall River	
Faulk	
Gregory <sup>1</sup>	
Haakon	
Hamlin	
Hand	
Hanson	
Harding	
Hughes <sup>1</sup>	
Hutchinson	

Hyde <sup>1</sup>	
Jackson <sup>1</sup>	
Jerauld	
Jones	
Kingsbury	
Lake	
Lawrence	
Lincoln	
Lyman <sup>1</sup>	
McCook	
McPherson	
Marshall <sup>1</sup>	
Meade	
Mellette <sup>1</sup>	
Miner	
Minnehaha	
Moody <sup>1</sup>	
Pennington	
Perkins <sup>1</sup>	
Potter	
Roberts <sup>1</sup>	
Sanborn	
Shannon <sup>1</sup>	
Spink	
Stanley <sup>1</sup>	
Sully	
Todd	
Tripp <sup>1</sup>	
Turner	
Union	
Walworth	
Yankton	
Ziebach <sup>1</sup>	

<sup>1</sup> Includes areas of Indian country located in the county.

.