

UNITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY

REGION 4 ATLANTA FEDERAL CENTER **61 FORSYTH STREET** ATLANTA, GEORGIA 30303-8960

August 22, 2017

The Honorable Bill Haslam Governor 600 Charlotte Avenue First Floor, Tennessee State Capitol Nashville, Tennessee 37243-0001

Dear Governor Haslam:

The purpose of this letter is to inform you of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's intended designations for all of the remaining areas in Tennessee for the 2010 Primary National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) for sulfur dioxide (SO₂). The designations for this NAAQS are an important part of the EPA's commitment to a clean, healthy environment. These intended designations are a response to designations-related recommendations and information your state submitted in letters dated May 26, 2011, January 28, 2013, and January 13, 2017.

On July 25, 2013, the EPA designated certain areas in 16 states as nonattainment, but did not at that time designate other areas. Additional areas were designated on June 30, 2016, and November 29, 2016. In Tennessee, the following areas were designated in these previous actions: Sullivan County (partial) and Sumner County. Pursuant to a March 2, 2015, court-ordered schedule,² the agency must complete the remaining SO₂ designations by two specific deadlines: December 31, 2017, and December 31, 2020. Accordingly, pursuant to section 107(d)(1)(B)(ii) of the Clean Air Act (CAA), this letter is to notify you of the EPA's assessment of your state's recommended designations for all remaining undesignated areas in Tennessee. We are in agreement with your recommendation as explained below and in the referenced technical support document. We stand ready to assist or resolve any differences regarding the proper designation for these areas within this 120-day period provided by the CAA.

To this end, if you or your staff have additional information that the EPA should consider prior to finalizing the designations, please submit it as soon as possible but no later than October 23, 2017. You may submit additional information by sending it to the EPA's public docket for these designations, EPA-HQ-OAR-2017-0003, located at www.regulations.gov, and sending a copy to EPA Region 4. The EPA also will publish a notice in the Federal Register announcing a 30-day comment period for the public to provide input on the EPA's intended designations.

¹ In 2016, Tennessee transmitted additional information to the EPA to support their designation recommendations.

² Sierra Club v. McCarthy, No. 3-13-cv-3953 (SI) (N.D. Cal. Mar. 2, 2015). Internet Address (URL) • http://www.epa.gov

Tennessee has recommended a designation of unclassifiable/attainment for the areas indicated below. The EPA regulations for implementing the SO₂ NAAQS require Tennessee to characterize SO₂ air quality in each listed area. In considering your recommendation, we have taken into account all available information, including any current (2014-2016) air monitoring data, and any air dispersion modeling analyses provided by Tennessee or by a third party. Our review of this information indicates that it is consistent with your recommendation.

Intended Unclassifiable/ Attainment Area	Included Counties
Humphreys County, TN Area	Humphreys County
Shelby County, TN Area	Shelby County
Stewart County, TN Area	Stewart County

The Technical Support Document provides the information that supports the intended designation decisions for these areas in Tennessee.³

Finally, we intend to designate as unclassifiable/attainment all remaining areas of Tennessee that were not required to be characterized and for which EPA does not have information that suggests the area may not be meeting the NAAQS or contributing to air quality in a nearby area that does not meet the NAAQS.⁴ A list of these remaining areas is included in the enclosure.

The EPA will promulgate the final designations for the areas identified in this letter by December 31, 2017. We are prepared to work with you to resolve any disagreements with respect to the available information or information gaps. We are then required to designate all other remaining undesignated areas by December 31, 2020, consistent with the prescribed timing of the court order. Upon the completion of this designation action, there will be no remaining areas in Tennessee to be designated.

We share your goal to provide cleaner air for citizens in your state. We look forward to a continued dialogue with you and your staff as we work together to complete the area designations and implement the 2010 primary SO₂ NAAQS. For additional information regarding designations under the SO₂ NAAQS, please visit our website at https://www.epa.gov/sulfur-dioxide-designations. Should you have

³ See Chapter 39 of the Technical Support Document for the designations the EPA plans to complete by December 31, 2017, that addresses areas in Tennessee. The full Technical Support Document is available at https://www.epa.gov/sulfur-dioxide-designations-regulatory-actions.

⁴ The EPA's intended designated areas include all areas of Indian country.

any questions, please do not hesitate to call me, or have your staff contact Beverly Banister of my staff at 404-562-9326 or banister.beverly@epa.gov.

Sincerely,
V. Anne Hard

V. Anne Heard

Acting Regional Administrator

Enclosure

cc: Bob Martineau, Commissioner

Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation (TDEC)

Michelle Walker Owenby, Director Division of Air Pollution Control, TDEC

Enclosure

List of all remaining areas of Tennessee that were not required to be characterized and for which EPA does not have information that suggests the area may not be meeting the NAAQS or contributing to air quality in a nearby area that does not meet the NAAQS. The EPA intends to designate each of these areas as a separate unclassifiable/attainment area. The EPA's intended designation concurs with the designation that Tennessee recommended.

County or Partial County (p)	Included Area, If Partial County
Anderson County	
Bedford County	
Benton County	
Bledsoe County	
Blount County	
Bradley County	
Campbell County	
Cannon County	
Carroll County	
Carter County	
Cheatham County	
Chester County	
Claiborne County	
Clay County	
Cocke County	1
Coffee County	
Crockett County	
Cumberland County	
Davidson County	
DeKalb County	
Decatur County	
Dickson County	
Dyer County	

Fayette County	
Fentress County	
Franklin County	
Gibson County	
Giles County	
Grainger County	
Greene County	
Grundy County	
Hamblen County	
Hamilton County	
Hancock County	
Hardeman County	
Hardin County	1.
Hawkins County	
Haywood County	
Henderson County	
Henry County	
Hickman County	
Houston County	
Jackson County	
Jefferson County	
Johnson County	
Knox County	
Lake County	
Lauderdale County	
Lawrence County	
Lewis County	
Lincoln County	
Loudon County	
Macon County	

Madison County	
Marion County	
Marshall County	
Maury County	
McMinn County	
McNairy County	
Meigs County	
Monroe County	
Montgomery County	
Moore County	
Morgan County	
Obion County	
Overton County	
Perry County	
Pickett County	
Polk County	
Putnam County	
Rhea County	
Roane County	
Robertson County	
Rutherford County	
Scott County	
Sequatchie County	
Sevier County	
Smith County	
Sullivan County (p)	The remaining undesignated portions of Sullivan County (See 40 CFR 81.343)
Tipton County	
Trousdale County	
Unicoi County	
Union County	

Van Buren County	
Warren County	
Washington County	
Wayne County	
Weakley County	
White County	
Williamson County	
Wilson County	
Wilson County	