

UNITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY REGION 8

1595 Wynkoop Street Denver, CO 80202-1129 Phone 800-227-8917 www.epa.gov/region8

AUG 2 2 2017

Ref: 8P-AR

Honorable Matthew Mead State Capitol Building Room 124 Cheyenne, Wyoming 82002-0010

Dear Governor Mead:

The purpose of this letter is to inform you of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA's) intended designations for certain areas in Wyoming for the 2010 Primary National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) for sulfur dioxide (SO₂). The designations for this NAAQS are an important part of the EPA's commitment to a clean, healthy environment. These intended designations are a response to designation-related recommendations and information your state submitted in letters dated March 24, 2011 and January 13, 2017.¹

On July 25, 2013, the EPA designated certain areas in 16 states as nonattainment, but did not at that time designate other areas. Additional areas were designated on June 30, 2016 and November 29, 2016. No areas in Wyoming were previously designated. Pursuant to a March 2, 2015, court-ordered schedule,² the agency must complete the remaining SO₂ designations by two specific deadlines: December 31, 2017 and December 31, 2020. Accordingly, pursuant to section 107(d)(1)(B)(ii) of the Clean Air Act, this letter notifies you of the EPA's intentions regarding your state's recommended designations for all the remaining undesignated areas in Wyoming except areas that are associated with sources for which Wyoming elected to install and begin operating a new SO₂ monitoring network. We are in agreement with your recommendations for these areas, and we provide more information on our analysis in the accompanying technical support document.

If you or your staff have additional information that the EPA should consider prior to finalizing the designations, please submit it as soon as possible but no later than October 23, 2017. You may submit additional information by sending it to the EPA's public docket for these designations, EPA-HQ-OAR-2017-0003, located at *www.regulations.gov*, and sending a copy to EPA Region 8. The EPA also will publish a notice in the *Federal Register* announcing a 30-day comment period for the public to provide input on the EPA's intended designations.

Wyoming has recommended a designation of attainment for the areas indicated below. EPA regulations for implementing the SO₂ NAAQS require Wyoming to characterize SO₂ air quality in each listed area. In considering your recommendation, we have taken into account all available information, including any current (2014-2016) air monitoring data, and any air dispersion modeling analyses provided by

¹ Wyoming also provided information relevant to these designations on August 10, 2017.

² Sierra Club v. McCarthy, No. 3-13-cv-3953 (SI) (N.D. Cal. Mar. 2, 2015).

Wyoming or by a third party. Our review of this information indicates that it is consistent with your recommendation.

Unclassifiable/Attainment Area	Included Counties
Campbell County	Campbell
Lincoln County	Lincoln
Platte County	Platte
Eastern Sweetwater County (includes the portion of the county east of Highway 191)	Sweetwater County

Enclosure 1 to this letter provides the information that supports the intended designation decisions for these areas in Wyoming.³

Finally, we intend to designate as unclassifiable/attainment all remaining areas of Wyoming that were not required to be characterized and for which the EPA does not have information that suggests the area may not be meeting the NAAQS or contributing to air quality in a nearby area that does not meet the NAAQS. A list of these remaining areas is included in Enclosure 2.

The EPA will promulgate the final designations for the areas identified in this letter by December 31, 2017. We are prepared to work with you to resolve any disagreements with respect to the available information or information gaps. We are then required to designate all other remaining undesignated areas in Wyoming by December 31, 2020, consistent with the prescribed timing of the court order.

We share your goal to provide cleaner air for citizens in your state. We look forward to a continued dialogue with you and your staff as we work together to complete the area designations and implement the 2010 primary SO₂ NAAQS. For additional information regarding designations under the SO₂ NAAQS, please visit our website at https://www.epa.gov/sulfur-dioxide-designations. Should you have

³ Enclosure 1 is Chapter 45 of the Technical Support Document for the designations the EPA plans to complete by December 31, 2017, that addresses areas in Wyoming. The Technical Support Document is also available at https://www.epa.gov/sulfur-dioxide-designations.

any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me, or your Air Quality Program. Your staff may contact Monica Morales, Region 8's Air Program Director, at morales.monica@epa.gov or (303) 312-6936.

Sincerely,

Debra H. Thomas

Acting Regional Administrator

Enclosures

cc: Todd Parfitt, Director
Wyoming Department of Environmental Quality

Nancy Vehr, Administrator Wyoming DEQ, Air Quality Division

Enclosure 2

List of all remaining areas of Wyoming that were not required to be characterized and for which the EPA does not have information that suggests the area may not be meeting the NAAQS or contributing to air quality in a nearby area that does not meet the NAAQS. The EPA intends to designate each of these areas as a separate unclassifiable/attainment area.

County or Partial County (p)	Included Area, If Partial County
Albany	
Big Horn	
Campbell	
Crook	
Fremont (p)	All areas apart from the portion east of the Wind River Reservation and north of Highway 20.
Goshen	
Hot Springs ¹	
Johnson	
Laramie	
Natrona	
Niobrara	
Park	
Sheridan	
Sublette	
Teton	
Uinta	
Washakie	
Weston	

¹ Includes areas of Indian country located in the county. (p) indicates portion of county.