
K.A.R. 28-19-517  
 

Class I Operating Permits; Annual Emission Inventory and Fees. 
 
 
The owner or operator of each stationary source that is required to 
apply for a class I operating permit shall comply with this 
regulation. 
 
(a) Annual emissions inventory. 
 
(1) Each owner or operator shall submit to the department an annual 
emissions inventory for each stationary source for the year preceding 
the calendar year in which the source is required to apply for an 
operating permit and each year thereafter. 
 
(2) Each annual emissions inventory shall be submitted for any 
regulated pollutant deemed necessary by the secretary from each 
emission unit, as defined in K.A.R. 28-19-200, and shall include the 
following:  
 
 (A) All operating information;  
 
 (B) actual emissions, including fugitive emissions, calculated 
pursuant to K.A.R. 28-19-210;  
 
 (C) any quantity of emissions regardless of operating hours, 
including sources that did not operate; and  
 
 (D) emissions from each source only while operating in Kansas, 
if the source operates both in Kansas and out of state.  
 
(b) Annual emissions fee.  
 
(1) Each owner or operator shall submit to the department an annual 
emissions fee based on the annual emissions inventory determined 
under subsection (a). Annual emissions fees shall be the greater of 
the following:  
 
 (A) $1,000.00; or  
 
 (B) $53.00 per ton of emissions multiplied by the total number 
of tons of emissions, with a maximum of 4,000 tons of each of the 
following pollutants rounded to the nearest ton:  
  
 (i) Sulfur dioxide;  
 
 (ii) nitrogen oxides;  
 
 (iii) PM10;  
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 (iv) volatile organic compounds (VOCs); and  
 
 (v) hazardous air pollutants (HAPs), excluding HAPs already 
accounted for as VOCs or PM10.  
 
(2) Each owner or operator shall make annual emissions fee payments 
by check, bank draft, credit card, or money order payable to the 
Kansas department of health and environment.  
 
(c) Submittal.  
 
(1) Each annual emissions inventory determined under subsection (a) 
and each annual emissions fee determined under subsection (b) shall 
be submitted on forms provided by the department, using either of the 
following:  
 
 (A) An electronic inventory submission; or  
 
 (B) a paper inventory submission, including a fee of $250.00 for 
each paper inventory submittal and $10.00 for each single sided page.  
 
(2) Each submission shall be signed by a responsible official, as 
defined in K.A.R. 28-19-200, and shall be due on or before April 1 of 
each year or, if April 1 is a Saturday or Sunday, on or before the 
next business day following April 1.  
 
(3) If there is a change in the owner or operator of the stationary 
source, the owner or operator at the time the submission is due shall 
be responsible for submitting the annual emissions inventory and fee 
payment. For purposes of determining the annual emissions inventory 
required by subsection (a) for any period in which there was any 
other owner or operator of the stationary source, the owner or 
operator may assume current operating and emission information if the 
owner or operator is unable to obtain actual information from any 
previous owner or operator.  
 
(d) Late fee and refund.  
 
(1) Each owner or operator who fails to submit the annual emissions 
inventory and pay the annual emissions fee by the due date specified 
in subsection (c) shall pay a late fee. The late fee shall be $200.00 
per day or 0.10 percent of the annual emissions fee per day, 
whichever is greater.  
 
(2) Any overpayment of $100.00 or more made by the owner or operator 
of a stationary source may be refunded. Overpayments in any amount 
less than $100.00 shall not be refunded.  
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(Authorized by K.S.A. 2017 Supp. 65-3005 and 65-3024; implementing 
K.S.A. 65-3007 and K.S.A. 2017 Supp. 65-3024; effective Jan. 23, 
1995; amended Feb. 20, 1998; amended Sept. 23, 2005; amended Nov. 5, 
2010; amended Jan. 5, 2018.) 
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EPA Rulemakings 
 
CFR:   40 C.F.R. 70, Appendix A, Kansas (g) 
FRM:   84 FR 6338 (2/27/19), eff. date April 29, 2019. 
PRM:   83 FR 65115 (12/19/18) 
State Submission: 1/22/18 
State Effective Date: 1/5/18 
APDB File: KS-115 (eff. 3/29/19) 
Description:  This revision incorporates new emissions fee language applicable to only sources 
required to submit an annual emissions inventory pursuant to K.A.R. 28-19-517; increases the emission 
fee from current rate of $37.00 per ton to $53.00 per ton; establishes a base annual emission fee of 
$1,000; establishes the operation for an electronic submittal or paper submittal with associated fee, 
and amends language concerning late fees, refunds, and credits to encourage timely submission and 
discourage inaccurate reporting. The new language added to K.A.R. 28-19-517 parallels the revoked 
language in K.A.R. 28-19-202. The language was added as K.A.R. 28-19-517(a), (b), and (d). With the 
addition of the new language that paralleled K.A.R. 28-19-202, sections formerly part of K.A.R. 28-19-
517(a) and (b) have been revised and re-numbered as K.A.R. 28-19-517(c)(1) and (2). 
 
CFR:   40 C.F.R. 70, Appendix A, Kansas (c) 
FRM:   79 FR 4274 (1/27/14), Correction 81 FR 1890 (1/14/16) effective 1/14/16 
PRM:   79 FR 4313 (1/27/14) 
State Submission: 5/17/11 
State Effective Date: 11/5/10 
APDB File: KS-95 KS-96 (effective 3/28/14) (correction effective 1/14/16). 
Description:  This revision aligns the states reporting requirements with EPA’s reporting 
requirements. Specifically the due date of Emissions Inventory Questionnaire is changed to April 1; 
minimum thresholds for assessing emission fees for class 1 stationary sources is removed; late fee 
structure is modified; and the emissions fee in paragraph (c) is increased to $37 per ton. 
 
 
CFR:   40 C.F.R. 70, Appendix A, Kansas (d) 
FRM:   73 FR 7468 (02/08/2008) 
PRM:   75 FR 7504 (02/08/2008) 
State Submission: 03/08/2006 
State Effective Date: 9/23/2005 
APDB File:  KS-80; EPA-R07-OAR-2007-0829 
Description:  This revision clarifies that if June 1 falls on a weekend or holiday, the deadline 
for submission will be the next business day. 
 
 
CFR:   40 C.F.R. 70, Appendix A, Kansas (b) 
FRM:   68 FR 46489 (08/06/2003) 
PRM:   68 FR 46538 (08/06/2003) 
State Submission: 06/25/2001 
State Effective Date: 02/28/1998 
APDB File:  KS-48 
Description:  This revision changed the due date of the annual emission inventory from April 1 
to June 1.  
 
 
 
CFR:   40 C.F.R. 70, Appendix A, Kansas (a) 
FRM:   61 FR 2938 (1/30/96) 
PRM:   60 FR 34493 (7/3/95) 
State Submission: 12/12/94 
State Effective Date: 1/23/95 
APDB File:  KS-37 
Description:  EPA fully approved the operating permits program submitted by the state of Kansas 
for the purpose of complying with Federal requirements for an approvable state program to issue 
operating permits to all major stationary sources and certain other sources.  EPA also approved, under 
section 112(l), the states program for accepting delegation of section 112 standards to enforce air 
toxics regulations. 
 
Difference Between the State and EPA-Approved Regulation 
 
None.  

 


