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Historical Note 
.1) filed Oct . 23, 1990; repealed, new (i¢ 218-2.1-218-2 .2) fil 

992 cff. 30 days after filing . 

§ 218-2.1 Prohibitions. 
(a) It is unlawful for any person to sell or register, offer for sale or lease, import, deliver, 

purchase, rent, ]case, acq: :ire or receive a i993, 1994, 1996, or subsequent model-year, new or 
used motor vehicle, new motor vehicle engine or motor vehicle with a new motor vehicle engine 
in the state of New York which is not certified to California emission standards and meets all 
other applicable requirements of California Code oi Regulations, title 13, sections 1956.8, 
1956.9,1960.1,1960.1.5,1960.5,1961,1962,1964,1965,1968 .1,1976,1978 . 2030, 2031, 2047, 
and 2235 (see Table 1, section 200.9 of this Title) and is otherwise not in compliance with the 
Environmental Conservation Law and these departmental regulations, unless the vehicle is sold to 
another dealer, sold for the purpose of being wrecked or dismantled, sold exclusively for off-
highway use or sold for registration out of state . Vehicles that have been certified to standards 
promulgated pursuant to the authority contained in 42 USC 7521 (sec Table 1, section 200.9 of 
this Title) and that are in the possession of a rental agency in New York that are next rented with a 
final destination outside of New York will not be deemed as being in violation of this prohibition . 

(b) This Subpart does not apply to : 
(1) a vehicle acquired by a resident of this State for the purpose of replacing a vehicle 

registered to such resident which was damaged or became inoperative beyond reasonable repair 
or was stolen while out of this state ; provided that such replacement vehicle is acquired out of 
state at the time the previously owned vehicle was either damaged or became inoperative or 
was stolen ; or 

(2) a vehicle transferred by inheritance ; or - 
(3) a vehicle transferred by coust decree ; or 
(4) any vehicle sold after the effective date of this Subpart if the vehicle was registered in 

this State before such effective date; or 
(5) any motor vehicle having a certificate of conformity issued pursuant to the Clean Air 

Act (42 U.S.C . section 7401 et seq.) (see Table 1, section 200.9 of this Title) and originally 
registered in another state by a resident of that state who subsequently establishes residence in 
this State and who upon registration of the vehicle in this State provides satisfactory evidence 
to the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles of the previous residence and registra-
tion ; or 

(6) emergency vehicles ; or 
(7) military tactical vehicles and equipment; or 
(8) vehicles exempted by California Health and Safety Code, section 43656. (See Table 1, 

section 200.9 of this Title.) 
(c) Transfer to ultimate purchaser. For purposes of this Subpart, it is conclusively pre-

sumed that the equitable or legal title to any motor vehicle with an odometer reading of 7,500 
miles or more has been transferred to an ultimate purchaser and that the equitable or legal title to 
any motor vehicle with an odometer reading of less than 7,500 miles has not been transferred to an 
ultimate purchaser. 
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(d) In accordance with 42 USC 7507 (see Table 1, section 200.9 of this Title) under no 
circumstances will a New York State action require the conversion of a vehicle to a standard 
diffcrcnt from that to which it is cenificd for sale in Califorriia . 

Historical Note 
Sec . riled Oct. 23,1990; rcpcaled, new filed April 28 . 1992 ; amd. filed Nov . 28. 2000 cff. 30 

days after riling . Amended (a)-(b). 

§ 218-2.2 Reporting. 
(a) Certification reporting. (1) Thc manufacturer will submit one copy of the California 
Executive Order and Certificate of Conformity relating to certification of new motor vehicles 
for each engine family to be sold in New York State to the department within 30 days of 
receiving the Executive Order from CARB. 

(2) For the purposes of determining compliance with this Part, the dcpartmcnt may require 
any vehicle manufacturer subject to this Part to submit any documentation the department 
deems necessary to the effective administration and enforcement of this Part including all 
certification materials submitted to CARB . 
(b) Offset vehicle reporting . Commencing with the 1996 modcl-year, by March 1 st of the 

calendar year succeeding the end of the model-year, each manufacturer shall report to the 
depanment the number of offset vehicles, broken down by model type, delivered for sale in New 
York during such model-year . Such report shall also include the total number of manufacturc-' s 
Ilect delivered for sale in New York . 

Historical Note 
Sec . filed April 28, 1992 ; repcaled, new filed Nov . 28, 2000 eff. 30 days after filing . 

§ 218-2 .3 Enforcement. 
(a) The commissioner or a designee may enter and inspect a facility operated by a party 

subject to the requirements of this Part, any property, prcmises, books, papers, documents, or 
records (written and/or electronic) of that facility, at all reasonable times, locations, and hours, 
whether announced or unannounced, for the purpose of ascertaining compliance or noncompli-
ance with the ECL and this Title . The conduct of operations subject to the provisions of this Part 
in this State is deemed to constitute consent to such an inspection. 

(b) For the purpose of developing or assisting in the development of any regulation or 
enforcing the provisions of this Pan, any person subject to the provisions of this Pan must, upon 
oral or written request of any officer or employee of the department, when properly idcntificd and 
duly designated by the commissioner, furnish or permit such officer or employee at all reasonable 
times to have access to, and to copy all records relating to those parties which are subject to this 
Part. 

(c) Unless otherwise specified in the ECL or rcgulations, any person subject to the provisions 
of this Pan must retain all relevant records for at least three years from the creation of those 
records. 

Historical Note 
Sec. filed Nov. 2B, 2000 eff. 30 days after filing . 
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