Chapter 3745-45 Permit Fees



3745-45-01 Definitions

(A) "Fuel-burning equipment™ means any source operation, as defined in 3745-15-01(U), used to
burn fuel for the primary purpose of producing heat or power by indirect heat transfer.

(B) "Fuel-burning equipment input capacity" means the maximum heat input rate of any fuel-
burning equipment. This maximum heat input rate shall be the manufacturer's or designer's
guaranteed maximum heat input rate, or such other rate as may be determined by the Ohio
Environmental Protection Agency in accordance with good engineering practices. In the case of
conflict, the determination made by the Agency shall govern.

(C) "Incinerator™ means any source operation, as defined in 3745-15-01(U), used to burn refuse
or to process refuse material by burning, other than by open burning as defined in 3745-19-
01(G).

(D) "Incinerator input capacity” means the total average hourly weight of all materials introduced
into the source operation including solid fuels, but excluding gaseous fuels and liquid fuels when
those are used solely as fuels and excluding air introduced for the purpose of combustion. For a
cyclical or batch operation, the process weight per hour will be derived by dividing the total
process weight by the number of hours in one complete operation from the beginning of any
given process to the completion thereof, excluding any time during which the equipment is idle.
For a continuous operation, the process weight per hour will be derived by dividing the process
weight for a typical period of time.

(E) "Point source™ means any discernible, confined, and discrete conveyance, including but not
limited to any pipe, ditch, channel, tunnel, conduit, well, discrete fissure, container, or
concentrated animal feeding operation, from which any sewage, industrial waste, or other waste,
as defined by Ohio Revised Code Section 6111.01, is or may be discharged.

(F) "Process" means any source operation, as defined in 3745-15-01(U) excluding the operation
of fuel-burning equipment and incinerators.

Org. Effective Date: November 24, 1973
Former Rule Number: EP-39-01
Promulgated under: RC Chap. 119
Statutory Authority: RC8 3704.03, 6111.03



3745-45-02 Permit to Install Fees

Within fifteen (15) days of the effective date of a permit install or a permit to construct or
modify, the person receiving the permit shall pay:

(A) An amount equal to the fee for the water discharge permit required by 3745-45-03, if the
permit is for a new source treatment works, except that for a new source treatment with a design
flow discharge of less than 5,000 gallons per day, the fee shall be $50.00. For the purposes of
this regulation, the design flow discharge shall be deemed to be the amount stated in the
application for the permit to install.

(B) The fee listed in 3745-45-04, if the permit is for an air contaminant source operation.

(C) The sum of the fees required by (A) and (B) above, if the permit is both an air contaminant
source operation and a new source treatment works.

Org. Effective Date: November 24, 1973
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3745-45-03 Water Discharge Permit Fees

(A) Within fifteen (15) days after the effective date of a water discharge permit, the person
receiving the permit shall pay for each point source the amount specified in the table below:

Design Flow Discharge

(Gallons/day) Fee
Under 5,000 $ 0
5,000 - 50,000 50
50,001 - 100,000 100
100,001 - 300,000 175
Over 300,000 250

(B) If a permit applies to more than one point source, the fee required by (A) above shall be paid
for each point source to where the permit applies.

(C) The fee schedule for renewal of water discharge permits shall be the same as the fee schedule
for the original water discharge permits.

(D) No fee shall be paid for the first water discharge permit where the treatment works for the
discharge was constructed or modified pursuant to a permit to install issued by the Ohio
Environmental Protection Agency or its predecessor.

Org. Effective Date: November 24, 1973
Former Rule Number: EP-39-03
Promulgated under: RC Chap. 119
Statutory Authority: RC§ 6111.03



3745-45-04 Air Contaminant Source Operation Permit and Variance Fees

(A) Within fifteen (15) days of the effective date of a permit to construct or modify or a permit to
install an air contaminant source operation, the person receiving the permit shall pay the amounts
specified in the table below under "Installation.” Within fifteen (15) days of the effective date of
a permit to operate an air contaminant source operation or a variance, the person receiving the
permit or variance shall pay the amounts specified in the table under "Operating” of "Variance.”

(1) Fuel-Burning Equipment

Input Capacity

10° BTU/hour Operating Variance Installation
0-10 $ 50 $ 75 $ 65
above 10-100 70 150 130
above 100-300 90 225 195
above 300-500 110 300 260
above 500 130 375 325

All fuel-burning equipment using only natural gas, propane, LPG, or number two (2) or lighter
oil shall be assessed a fee one half of that shown.

(2) Incinerators

Input Capacity

pounds/hour Operating  Variance Installation
0-50 $ 50 $ 75 $ 65
51-500 70 150 130
501-2000 90 225 195
2001-30,000 110 300 260
above 30,000 130 375 325

(3) Process

Process Weight Rate

Pounds/hour Operating  Variance Installation
0-1000 $ 50 $ 75 $ 65
1001-5000 70 150 130
5001-10,000 90 225 195
10,001-50,000 110 300 260
above 50,000 130 375 325

In any process where "process weight rate™ cannot be ascertained the minimum fee shall be
assessed.

(B) Within fifteen (15) days after the effective date of a renewal of an air contaminant source
permit to operate or variance, the person receiving the permit or variance shall pay the amounts
specified in the table below:



(1) Fuel-Burning Equipment

Input Capacity

10° BTU/hour Operating Variance
0-10 $ 15 $ 130
above 10-100 30 130
above 100-300 40 130
above 300-500 50 130
above 500 65 130

All fuel-burning equipment using only natural gas, propane, IPG or number two (2) or lighter oil
shall be assessed a fee one half of that shown.

(2) Incinerators

Input Capacity

pounds/hour Operating Variance
0-50 $ 15 $ 130
51-500 30 130
501-2000 40 130
2001-30,000 50 130
above 30,000 65 130

(3) Process

Process Weight Rate

pounds/hour Operating Variance
0-1000 $ 15 $ 130
1001-5000 30 130
5001-10,000 40 130
10,001-50,000 50 130
above 50,000 65 130

In any process where "process weight rate™ cannot be ascertained the minimum fee shall be
assessed.

(C) No fee shall be paid for the first operating permit for an air contaminant source operation
where the source was constructed, installed, or modified pursuant to a Permit to Install, or a
Permit to Construct or Modify issued by the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency or its
predecessor.

Org. Effective Date: November 24, 1973
Former Rule Number: EP-39-04
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3745-45-05 Exemptions

(A) No fee imposed under this Chapter, 3745-45, may be charged state or any political
subdivision thereof, including educational facilities or medical facilities owned by the state or a
political subdivision.

(B) No fee imposed under this Chapter, 3745-45, may be charged any person exempted from
taxation by Section 5709.07 or Section 5709.12 of the Ohio Revised Code.

(C) The exemption provided in paragraphs (A) and (B) of this regulation shall apply to all fees
paid after August 31, 1972. Refunds should be requested from the Office of Administrative
Services of the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency, giving written notification that a person
exempted by this regulation paid fees after that date.

Org. Effective Date: November 24, 1973
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