An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

On-Board Diagnostics (OBD): Status of State and Local (OBD) Inspection/Maintenance (I/M) Programs

A majority of the 33 state and local areas that require vehicle emissions tests have incorporated the use of on-board diagnostics (OBD) technology, as required by the Clean Air Act. Review the list below to find out the status of your state or locality.

For more details, visit the Equipment and Tool Institute Exit website, which includes a comprehensive 51 page overview of inspection and maintenance programs.

Currently Performing OBD Checks

  • Alaska (Fairbanks and Anchorage areas)
  • Arizona (Phoenix area)
  • California
  • Colorado (Denver and Boulder areas)
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Georgia (Atlanta area)
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Kentucky (Louisville area)
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Nevada (Las Vegas and Reno areas)
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • Utah (Salt Lake, Davis, Utah, and Weber Counties)
  • Tennessee (Davidson, Rutherford, Shelby, Sumner, Williamson, and Wilson Counties)
  • Texas
  • Vermont
  • Washington
  • Wisconsin

Will Require OBD Checks in the Future

  • Missouri (St. Louis and Franklin County)
  • New York
  • Virginia