An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

Sulfur Dioxide Designations

Proposed Error Correction of the Designations for Areas in Texas

EPA is proposing to modify area designations for three areas in Texas including portions of Freestone and Anderson Counties, Rusk and Panola Counties, and Titus County. In December 2016, EPA designated these areas as nonattainment for the 2010 primary sulfur dioxide (SO2) National Ambient Air Quality Standard. In this proposed action, EPA is proposing to correct an error in the nonattainment designations for these three areas and revise each to be designated as unclassifiable. EPA invites public input on this proposed action and will accept comments through September 23, 2019.

Read a pre-publication version of the proposal below.