An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) Program

TRI-Covered Industry Sectors

A facility's coverage under the Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) Program is determined by its 6-digit North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code. NAICS is a framework by which economic units that have similar production processes are classified into the same industry by a numerical designation.

On this page:


Note: Federal facilities are covered by TRI reporting requirements, regardless of NAICS code, due to Executive Order 12856.

List of Covered 6-Digit NAICS Codes

Covered NAICS codes are listed at 40 CFR 372.23. You can also see the complete list of covered 6-digit NAICS codes in the TRI reporting instructions.

Background on NAICS Codes and TRI Reporting

The Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act originally required TRI reporting using 4-digit Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) codes. However, the Office of Management and Budget replaced the SIC code system with the NAICS code system developed by the U.S. Census Bureau, and the TRI Program adopted this system in 2006 (71 FR 32464). NAICS codes are updated every five years, and facilities currently use OMB-revised 2017 6-digit NAICS codes on their TRI reporting forms.