An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

Region 3 Tribal Program

EPA’s Mid-Atlantic Region (Region 3) is committed to helping tribes strengthen their abilities to manage environmental progras in Indian Country, and to ensure that tribes have a voice in decisions that affect their land, air and water. Currently, the regional office serves seven federally recognized tribes within the Commonwealth of Virginia, only.  These tribes include:  Chickahominy Indian Tribe, Chickahominy Indians Eastern Division, Monacan Indian Nation, Nansemond Indian Nation, Pamunkey Indian Tribe, Rappahannock Tribe and the Upper Mattaponi Indian Tribe.

Grants and  Announcements