An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

Border 2020

Cross Border Contingency Plans for U.S.-Mexico Sister Cities

The concept of sister city contingency plans was established in 1983 by the Joint Response Team (JRT). Recognizing that chemical emergencies affect the local community first, JRT members agreed that subsequent planning efforts would be needed for the 28 sister cities – 14 in Mexico and the adjacent 14 in the United States – that could be affected by a major hazardous substance release. The sister city contingency plan program was created to meet that need. Under the Border 2012 Program, a 15th Sister-City Pair or Tri-National Plan was recognized: The Tohono O'Odham Nation, State of Arizona and Sonoyta, Sonora, Mexico. In addition, under the Border 2012 Program, the sister cities of El Paso, Texas and Cuidad Juárez, Chihuahua also included Sunland Park, New Mexico and the Ysleta del Sur Pueblo into the sister-city plan, also becoming a Tri-National Plan.

The 15 Sister City Plans as recognized under the Border 2020 Program:

Region 9 Sister-City Plans:

  • San Diego, California - Tijuana, Baja California (Updated 2013)
  • Calexico (Imperial County), California - Mexicali, Baja California (Signed 2005, currently being updated)
  • Yuma-San Luis, Arizona - San Luis Rio Colorado, Sonora (Signed 2000, currently being updated)
  • Nogales, Arizona - Nogales, Sonora (Signed  2005, currently being updated)
  • Naco (Cochise County), Arizona - Naco, Sonora (Signed 2002, currently being updated)
  • Douglas, Arizona - Agua Prieta, Sonora (Signed 2001, currently being updated)
  • Tohono O'Odham Nation - State of Arizona - Sonoyta, Sonora, Mexico (Pending approval of plan)

Region 6 Sister-City Plans:

  • Columbus, New Mexico - Puerto Palomas, Chihuahua (Signed 2002)
  • El Paso, Texas - Cuidad Juárez, Chihuahua - Sunland Park, New Mexico - Ysleta del Sur Pueblo (Signed 2007, Updated 2009)
  • Presidio, Texas - Ojinaga, Chihuahua (Signed 2004, Updated 2013)
  • Del Rio, Texas - Cuidad Acuña, Coahuila (Signed 2001, Updated 2013)
  • Eagle Pass, Texas - Piedras Negras, Coahuila (Signed 1998, Updated 2013)
  • Laredo, Texas - Nuevo Laredo, Tamaulipas (Signed 1998)
  • McAllen, Texas - Reynosa, Tamaulipas (Signed 2000)
  • Browsnville, Texas - Matamoros, Tamaulipas (Signed 2002, Pending final signatures by parties)
You may need a PDF reader to view some of the files on this page. See EPA’s About PDF page to learn more.