An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »


Region 9 Wetland Program Development Grant Request for Applications

Wetland Program Development Grants: 2019-2020 Request for Applications

Agency Name: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region 9
Funding Opportunity Name: FY19 and FY20 Region 9 Wetland Program Development Grants
Announcement Type: Request for Applications (RFA)
Funding Opportunity Number: EPA-REG9-WPDG-19-20
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Number: 66.461

Applications must be submitted electronically through by April 29, 2019 at 8:59 P.M. PDT (equivalent to 11:59 P.M. EDT). Late submission will not be considered for funding. Questions about this RFA must be submitted in writing via e-mail and must be received by the Agency Contact identified in Section VII, AGENCY CONTACTS, before April 22. Written responses to frequently asked or general questions will be posted at our main Wetland grants website.

A full final application package is required at this time.

Note to Applicants: If you name subawardees/subgrantees and/or contractor(s) in your Project Narritive to assist you with the proposed project, pay careful attention to the information in the CONTRACTS AND SUBAWARDS provisions found at EPA Solicitation Clauses page.


Notice of Request for Applications for Projects to be Funded from the Wetland Program Development Grants - Regional Allocation
(CFDA 66.461 - Wetland Program Development Grants)

Wetland Program Development Grants (WPDGs) assist state, tribal, local government (S/T/LG) agencies and interstate/intertribal entities in developing or refining state/tribal/local programs which protect, manage, and restore wetlands. The primary focus of these grants is to develop/refine state and tribal wetland programs. A secondary focus is to develop/refine local (e.g. county or municipal) programs. Projects must be performed within one or more of the states of EPA Region 9 -- specifically California, Hawaii, Nevada, Arizona, and the Pacific Islands -- to be eligible to apply for funding. In the case of inter-jurisdictional watershed projects, they must be primarily implemented in EPA Region 9. This document describes the grant selection and award process for eligible applicants interested in applying for WPDGs under this announcement.

A list of previously funded projects is posted at the EPA’s Wetland Grants Database  for reference.

Important Dates:


Applications must be received electronically through by 8:59 P.M. PDT (equivalent to 11:59 P.M. EDT).


The EPA tentatively selects applications for awards. 


The EPA awards grants to recipients.

The dates above (other than the April 29 application submission date) are anticipated dates and may be subject to change. See Section IV for further information on submission methods and dates.

You may need a PDF reader to view some of the files on this page. See EPA’s About PDF page to learn more.