An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

Federal Water Quality Standards Requirements

On this page:

Federal Regulation for Water Quality Standards

The Water Quality Standards Regulation (40 CFR 131) establishes the requirements for states and tribes to review, revise and adopt water quality standards. It also establishes the procedures for EPA to review, approve, disapprove and promulgate water quality standards pursuant to section 303 (c) of the Clean Water Act.

Review and Approval of State and Tribal Water Quality Standards, "Alaska Rule" (Effective May 30, 2000)

We require that water quality standards adopted by states and authorized tribes on or after May 30, 2000 must be approved by EPA before they can be used as the basis for actions, such as establishing water quality-based effluent limitations or total maximum daily loads (TMDLs), under the Clean Water Act.

Federal Guidance for Standards in the Great Lakes System

The Water Quality Guidance for the Great Lakes System was issued in 1995.  It established minimum standards, antidegradation policies, and implementation procedures for waters of the Great Lakes system. This includes special requirements for bioaccumulative chemicals of concern. The eight Great Lakes states were required to adopt water quality standards as protective as these requirements within two years (by 1997).

Top of Page

You may need a PDF reader to view some of the files on this page. See EPA’s About PDF page to learn more.