An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

Particulate Matter (PM) Pollution

National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) for PM

On this page:

Rule Summary

On December 7, 2020, after carefully reviewing the most recent available scientific evidence and technical information, and consulting with the Agency’s independent scientific advisors, EPA is  announcing it will retain, without revision, the existing primary (health-based) and secondary (welfare-based) National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) for particulate matter.

Currently, the EPA has primary and secondary standards for PM2.5 (annual average standards with levels of 12.0 µg/m3 and 15.0 µg/m3, respectively; 24-hour standards with 98th percentile forms and levels of 35 µg/m3) and PM10 (24-hour standards with one-expected exceedance forms and levels of 150 µg/m3). 

Rule History

12/07/2020 - Final Decision (signed 12/4/2020)

04/29/2020 - Public Hearing Notice

04/14/2020 – Proposed Action

01/15/2013 – Final Decision in the 2012 PM NAAQS Review

Additional Resources

Fact Sheet Summarizing Final Action

Scientific and Technical Documents Supporting the 2020 Review of the PM NAAQS

Information on the Review of Secondary Standards for Ecological Effects of Oxides of Nitrogen, Oxides of Sulfur and Particulate Matter