An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

Superfund Redevelopment Initiative

Region 4 Excellence in Site Reuse Award

You may need a PDF reader to view some of the files on this page. See EPA’s About PDF page to learn more.

Region 4

This image shows which states are included in EPA's Region 4: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee and 6 Tribes.

Region 4 has been successful in facilitating the redevelopment of Superfund sites across the Region. This success is largely due to the hard work and creative thinking of EPA project staff and the cooperation of site owners, local governments and developers. To recognize these cooperative outcomes, Region 4 created the "Excellence in Site Reuse" award to give to those who had gone above and beyond in redeveloping a Superfund site.


Region 4 established the "Excellence in Site Reuse" award to recognize those who have supported the Superfund Redevelopment Initiative through outstanding efforts when redeveloping a Superfund site. Region 4 has been very successful in facilitating the redevelopment of Superfund sites. Many developers, site owners, and local governments have worked closely with Region 4 to ensure that sites are redeveloped in a manner to enhance the remedial actions taken and/or minimize the Agency's responsibilities for long term care and maintenance. This award was established to recognize these outstanding efforts.


The "Excellence in Site Reuse" award can be given to a developer, site owner or local government who has demonstrated excellence in working cooperatively with Region 4 to ensure the reuse of a Superfund site was complimentary with the remedial actions taken and may have even enhanced the remedial actions.

Evaluation Criteria For "Excellence in Site Reuse" Award

  1. Enhancement of the selected remedy
  2. Reduction of EPA's long term stewardship responsibilities
  3. Effect on local community
  4. Enhanced monitoring of institutional controls (neighborhood watch) Franklin Hill, Region 4 Superfund Director presents Philip Stallman of ExxonMobil with an "Excellence in Site Reuse" Award.Franklin Hill, Region 4 Superfund Director presents Phil Stallman of ExxonMobil with an "Excellence in Site Reuse" Award.
  5. Design of redevelopment complementary with long term implementation of selected remedy

Site Award Winners

To date, Region 4 has given "Excellence in Site Reuse" awards to 20 projects at sites located in six different states. Awards will continue to be granted to sites meeting the above eligibility and evaluation criteria.