An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

EPA’s Pacific Southwest Tribal Program (Region 9)

EPA’s Pacific Southwest Region (Region 9) is committed to helping tribes strengthen their abilities to manage environmental programs in Indian Country, and to ensure that tribes have a voice in decisions that affect their land, air and water. The regional office serves 148 federally recognized tribes within Arizona, California and Nevada.

On this page:

Regional Tribal Operations Committee (RTOC)

The Regional Tribal Operations Committee (RTOC) provides an opportunity for discussion between tribes and EPA. EPA Pacific Southwest (Region 9) holds quarterly RTOC meetings.

Indian General Assistance Program (GAP) in Region 9

GAP is guided by the Guidance on the Award and Management of General Assistance Agreements for Tribes and Inter-tribal Consortia. For more information regarding the administration of GAP in Region 9, see the GAP Officers contact list.

Tribal Consultation Procedures for Region 9

For more specific guidelines on consultation with tribes in Region 9, see the regional procedures below.

Federally-Recognized Tribes in EPA's Pacific Southwest

Hawaii has no Indian nations designated at this time.


The following links exit the site Exit


The following links exit the site Exit


The following links exit the site Exit